Notices

Merge Collector Angle Discussion

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2005, 01:08 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Merge Collector Angle Discussion

As many of you know, the angle at which a merge collector "merges" is one of the variables you can change when building a header. I see alot of collectors that are very steep angles, and some, such as burns which typically use between a 10-20 degree merge depending on few different things. Why would a shallow merge angle be preferable over a steeper merge angle? I'm not asking for people to give away propietary info (casey *cough* ) but it would be nice to see what reasoning people have behind their designs.
Old 12-21-2005, 02:22 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Merge Collector Angle Discussion (k24em2)

i am by no means an engineer or anything close to it.

but my understanding of a nice "long" collector is that the exh. gas will flow more smoothly into the turbine, and will have less turbulance than a collector with more of an angle on it.
Old 12-21-2005, 07:40 AM
RMF

Default Re: Merge Collector Angle Discussion (Dturbocivic)

The different angles are for different RPM ranges.A real short steep angle is for a higher RPM range.A long one would be for lower RPMs

Modified by RMF at 9:00 AM 12/21/2005
Old 12-21-2005, 07:50 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Merge Collector Angle Discussion (k24em2)

We used 15 deg. on most applications because with the particular way we size our collectors, it works very well, and yes we have verified this through rigorous testing on the engine dyno.

We use a 25 deg. quite a bit too on turbo stuff for packaging reasons

lets get your brain really ticking
I have seen multitudes of different collector configurations in F1 even flat collectors and collectord with merge angles as large as 45 Deg.
Old 12-21-2005, 07:58 AM
RMF

Default Re: Merge Collector Angle Discussion (Casey@Burns)