Go Back   Honda-Tech > Honda and Acura Technical Forums > Forced Induction
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to Honda-Tech!
Welcome to Honda-Tech.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Honda-Tech community today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-20-2005, 08:16 PM   #1
ATgrills.com
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
ATgrills.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 1,263
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via ICQ to ATgrills.com
Default Tach wont work properly with Aftermarket Ignition system! HELP

I still cant figure out my tach problem that ive been having for the past 3 months....
At first the tach would go all over the place at 3000RPM,, so I decided to run a DIRECT wire from the back of my stock tach to the distributor..
Now the stock tach is fine till 7000RPM then goes all over the place and frezes..

I have the MDS SCI PN 6300 Ignition mudule with a MSD cap and wire and a Crane PS91 Performance Ignition Coil

The motor RUNS 100% revs all the way up with no hesitation, even on the dyno it was fine since we where running the RPM's threw the Laptop.....

I dont know what t do anymore? I know the cluster was fine until I changed my complete motor set up!

PLEASE HELP!
Tyler

__________________
-04 silverstone S2K slammed on 18 Volk TE-37
-01 JDM CW ITR Turbo 479WHP@25PSI (soldddd)
-99 CW JRSC ITR@9PSI=247/171 at the wheels. Hondata tuned! (RIP)
13.703@108.5 on winter tires! I need slicks!
-92 EG turbo b18b HB (Sold and miss her everyday)

HAS auto......
ATgrills.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2005, 04:26 AM   #2
ATgrills.com
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
ATgrills.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 1,263
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via ICQ to ATgrills.com
Default Re: Tach wont work properly with Aftermarket Ignition system! HELP (ATgrills.com)

ttt
__________________
-04 silverstone S2K slammed on 18 Volk TE-37
-01 JDM CW ITR Turbo 479WHP@25PSI (soldddd)
-99 CW JRSC ITR@9PSI=247/171 at the wheels. Hondata tuned! (RIP)
13.703@108.5 on winter tires! I need slicks!
-92 EG turbo b18b HB (Sold and miss her everyday)

HAS auto......
ATgrills.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2005, 06:11 AM   #3
DaveF
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
DaveF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Lansdale, PA
Posts: 16,907
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to DaveF
Default Re: Tach wont work properly with Aftermarket Ignition system! HELP (ATgrills.com)

when i see a jumping tach, that is usually a sign of something wrong in the distributer.

have you checked all your connections? also try cleaning the distributor(on the inside, so there is no metal debis that can fly around giving off false readings.
DaveF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2005, 08:29 AM   #4
warrick
Garage is empty, add now
 
warrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 508
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Tach wont work properly with Aftermarket Ignition system! HELP (Dturbocivic)

clean up your grounds as well.
warrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2005, 08:32 AM   #5
dustin
B*a*n*n*e*d
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 14,502
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Tach wont work properly with Aftermarket Ignition system! HELP (ATgrills.com)

Get rid of all the MSD stuff and then see if it works with stock ignition.
dustin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2005, 04:07 PM   #6
ATgrills.com
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
ATgrills.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 1,263
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via ICQ to ATgrills.com
Default Re: Tach wont work properly with Aftermarket Ignition system! HELP (dustin)

I have 500WHP so I dont think my stock ignition will be suficient for my set up...

As for grounds I added 2 hypergrounds , one to the 12mm distributor bolt and one another one to the frame so I dont think ground is an issue anymore...

I didnt open the distributer because it was fine when the complete set up with the ignition was running in a 95 civic.....
and I didnt drop it or anything when I was switching it into my R......


argg please any other suggestions!
__________________
-04 silverstone S2K slammed on 18 Volk TE-37
-01 JDM CW ITR Turbo 479WHP@25PSI (soldddd)
-99 CW JRSC ITR@9PSI=247/171 at the wheels. Hondata tuned! (RIP)
13.703@108.5 on winter tires! I need slicks!
-92 EG turbo b18b HB (Sold and miss her everyday)

HAS auto......
ATgrills.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2005, 07:26 PM   #7
ATgrills.com
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
ATgrills.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 1,263
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via ICQ to ATgrills.com
Default Re: Tach wont work properly with Aftermarket Ignition system! HELP (ATgrills.com)

ttt
__________________
-04 silverstone S2K slammed on 18 Volk TE-37
-01 JDM CW ITR Turbo 479WHP@25PSI (soldddd)
-99 CW JRSC ITR@9PSI=247/171 at the wheels. Hondata tuned! (RIP)
13.703@108.5 on winter tires! I need slicks!
-92 EG turbo b18b HB (Sold and miss her everyday)

HAS auto......
ATgrills.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2005, 07:38 PM   #8
Blown90hatcH
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Blown90hatcH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Back in the dirty South! ATL
Posts: 19,969
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to Blown90hatcH
Default Re: Tach wont work properly with Aftermarket Ignition system! HELP (ATgrills.com)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATgrills.com
I have 500WHP so I dont think my stock ignition will be suficient for my set up.
Blah. My car made 500+ with a stock distributor and makes over 600 with a MSD blaster coil only. I tried to help you before by adding the resistor on your harness but you didn't try it. Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
JESUS Saves / JKOBD.com - Wiring, Tuning, Fabrication / 9.48@151 2000 Civic HB SFWD/True Street
TDC Performance
Blown90hatcH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2005, 07:50 PM   #9
anothaRRR
Honda-Tech Member
2000 Acura Integra
 
anothaRRR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Georgia
Posts: 942
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to anothaRRR
Default Re: Tach wont work properly with Aftermarket Ignition system! HELP (Blown90hatcH)

Mine did that when I replaced my igniter with a older one, then I bought a brand new one and tach started working fine. I dont know if it was cause it was a obd1 part or what, im not sure..
__________________
2000 PY ITR #00-0523
anothaRRR is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
aftermarket, crx, doesnt, ignition, msd, sci, stock, system, tach, tachometer, wont, work

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:17 PM.



2008 Copyright, InternetBrands Inc.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Honda-Tech.com content, comments, or advertising. Honda-Tech.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Honda-Tech.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Emails & Contact Details