Notices
Honda Prelude All Model Preludes

Help with an 89 prelude turbo

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2008, 08:42 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help with an 89 prelude turbo

Hi,

I'm preparing to buy an 89 prelude si and I'm in need of some help. I have zero knowledge of cars whatsoever to the point where you could tell me anything and it would blend together like a mess of information in my head. I tried reading the FAQ but some of the information seemed confusing for someone who has never read about prelude's before.

Sorry for sounding ignorant. This car has a snapped o2 sensor and there's also a hole in the radiator. He seemed honest about there not being any other problems with the car so I'll start with this. In the FAQ it says simulated sensor but nothing real? Does this mean they don't make sensors for the 89 anymore or is the guide only explaining how to get away with making one yourself for saving money?

The radiator has a slow leak that started this month, he'll fix it if I buy the car but here's where my next question comes in. He's asking 4000 for the car but I offered him 3300. So he says 3200 without the radiator and 3600 to get it fixed. Does this seem like a fair price? Would I be better off buying it for 3200 and having it done by somebody I know or will I end up spending 200-300 anyway?

The car in question is this one here, let me know what you guys think. http://vancouver.en.craigslist.ca/cto/902037368.html

Deal or no deal?

Forgive me if this is all obvious, I'm just so bad with cars.
Old 11-26-2008, 08:47 PM
Honda-Tech Member

If you're bad with cars, is an aftermarket turbocharged 20 year old car really a great car to be buying?

Radiators are easy to replace, and oxygen sensors aren't too bad either, but I'd expect many more problems...
Old 11-26-2008, 08:50 PM