Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

97 Civic EX won't turn over at all

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2012, 02:17 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 97 Civic EX won't turn over at all

I have a 96 Civic EX that will not start. All the lights come on, the radio, AC & all electricity works, so I'm pretty sure it's not a dead battery. When I turn the key, nothing happens but dash lights etc, the car doesn't even try to engage. Could it be the starter?

I'm not a mechanic (otherwise I'd have already fixed it), but this has happened before & it was the anti-theft device. It's an after market device & I've tried to reset it, although I can't remember exactly how to do it.

Can somebody PLEASE tell me how to reset it?

Or, if anyone has another idea that they think will get my car started, please let me know.

Also, I did try calling the dealer, but for some reason they told me they didn't know how to reset the device & the guy I talked with did his best to NOT help, then put me on hold for 10 minutes & I finally hung up.

Any REAL help is greatly appreciated it.

Thanks!!
Old 03-17-2012, 03:25 PM
The Grumpiest

Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts
Default Re: 97 Civic EX won't turn over at all

You might be SOL if it's the A/M components causing your no-start issue. You can't even give us the namebrand of it. Can you push start it?
Old 03-18-2012, 09:50 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Yup. I realize that it may be difficult figure out how to work with it if I don't even know what brand it is. That said, are there some general guidelines that A/M installers use? I could just try a few of the most common sequences or something. I did reset it once before, so I know it's possible. I have tried the same sequence I used to reset it before & that turns off the blinking alarm LED for a while, but for some reason it comes back on again.