Notices
Honda Accord (1990 - 2002) Includes 1997 - 1999 Acura CL

accord doesn't start. help!!!

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2006, 06:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default accord doesn't start. help!!!

hi,

i have a problem on my hands...my 4th gen accord wont start. it's a 1990 manual 2 door exr)

its been sitting there in my garage for well over a year now possibly even 2 years(my memory is fuzzy.) with no proper storage techniques used.. . i'm no mechanic but i did some diagnostics along with my pops and we thought it was the starter so we had it rebuilt. ok so now the starter rebuilt and in and when we try to start it the car sounds like its turning over and the spark plugs are new and are getting spark because we tested that too with a screw driver. i researched around the internet and found out that it could be a fuel problem so i listened to hear if i could hear the fuel pump buzzing when the key was in the ON position, and if my ears are working correctly, i hear no buzz back there near the gas tank... although i've never heard a fuel pump buzz in my life so i can't really judge what i'm looking for but there is NO NOISE back there at all.

now what im wondering is what you guys think has gone bad by just sitting there to cause the fuel pump to stop working? surely the fuel pump couldn't break when it hasn't even been used since the last time i turned it on(btw the car was was working but idling funny when it was last running). i've done more research and i've learned that it could also be the main fuel relay or 2 fuses related to the relay and pump, where can these fuses be found and you experts think my main fuel relay is the problem? i heard the relay only acts up in warm weather but its fairly cold where i live right now so how could it be the main relay? although it did go through a summer or possibly 2 atleast in that garage.