Notices
Honda Accord (1990 - 2002) Includes 1997 - 1999 Acura CL

'91 Accord Engine dying at 2k rpm and higher.

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2009, 03:49 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default '91 Accord Engine dying at 2k rpm and higher.

Note: If you want to get to the heart of the matter, skip to my other hard starting thread. It has what I think are the real answers to the engine dying at 2k rpm and then being hard to start. Although the thread below is good reading.

https://honda-tech.com/forums/showth...4#post38374854

Hi Gents,

I'm new to Honda's. In fact this Accord I just picked up is my first one ever. Nicely built. There's a bit of a story behind it, so I hope the details won't bore you to tears. I've been a shade tree kind of car nut most of my life. I'm a tech by trade. I have a couple of electric trucks, but need something with longer range to take the place of my gas hog '69 Plymouth wagon. This Accord fits the bill nicely. The last couple of weeks before I posted this message I've been reading through this forum just getting familiar with the quirks that the Accords have.

The post from Jagan'92 in the Prelude forum is going to help a lot when I get to replacing the connecting pipe. I have all of the parts in house as of yesterday. I got the prices from Majestic Honda, and then emailed them to a local Honda dealer and he gave me better prices. Pays to shop around in this economy.

I picked up a great deal on this '91 Accord. $350 including renting a trailer to tow it! 206k miles. It had a lot of work done to it. But it was reported to have water on one of the spark plugs by a local mechanic. So I thought I'd buy it and give it a try.

I filled the radiator with water as it was low. Just as I had read in this forum, the idle surged over about a 1000 rpm range. So I just bled it and it settled right down. That sure seems like a software feature to me. It sure lets you know if the system is not bled.