Notices
Audio / Security / Video Sound Systems, Alarms, Electronics

Wiring In 2nd amp - 27ft Sea Ray! Help Please

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2013, 04:09 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 20 Likes on 14 Posts
Default Wiring In 2nd amp - 27ft Sea Ray! Help Please

So bare with me but im an audio noob but am working on my brothers 27ft sea ray slx this week while on vacation. Heres the run down

1st amp>4 channel 100w-xper channel
2nd amp>4 channel 750watt amp
cmd4 clarion head unit
ipod adaptor

Now the boat has 2 fronts, 2 mids, 2 rears & we just installed some overhead wakeboard rack speakers.

Now the goal is to have all the factory boat speakers powered off amp 1 and the overhead speakers off amp2 with the option of running them all at the same time or have one or the other installed.

Now what i have done thus far is installed the 2nd amp & overhead speakers. We shared the ground from amp 1 to amp2 and ran a seperate power cable to the distribution block in the rear of the boat and its fused with a 60amp fuse.

Now the front speakers were running off the head unit directly instead of the amp1 which posed an issue as if we are running the amp2 with overhead speakers the fronts are still always on.

So i cut & spliced the front speakers after the headunit & ran them to the amp1 location. I used heatshrink and solder to make the connections solid and ran them through the factory oem plumbing.

Now my question is this....in order to have the option of having both amps on & running at the same time or 1 per time my idea was to take the REM cable going into the amp rack section and solder 2 points off this 1 cable. Run 1 point to each switch then from each switch to each amp. Then ill have the rem cable hitting 2 switches, 1 per amp using factory oem switches on the dash. This should in my mind give us the option of running amp1 or amp2, or flipping them both on.

Now on my head unit amp1 is connected to the following