Notices
Tech / Misc Tech topics that don't seem to go elsewhere.

suspension question from a novice

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2001, 07:43 PM
New User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default suspension question from a novice

Please excuse my ignorance... I'm fairly new to the car scene and still learning

I drive a '95 Civic with a modest list of upgrades. I recently started autoxing and want to upgrade my suspension. I've narrowed it down to two set ups:

1) Eibach (Pro-Kit)/AGX
2) ITR springs/struts

Couple questions:
1) I hear the ITR set up will fit on my car, but I'll need LCAs in the rear. True/False?
2) I'm riding on 16" SSR Integral with 205/45 tires. How low will the ITR springs drop me?
3) Which set up will make for a more comfortable daily driver?
4) Any other thoughts?

Tenks for being patient and for your insight!
Pearl

Old 07-11-2001, 07:40 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: suspension question from a novice (teeter)

1) You do indeed need ITR LCAs on the civic. The ITR struts may not fit on the fronts though...
2) The ITR springs supposedly drop the car 0.75' on a Teg. Not sure about a Civic.
3) Both setups will be equally comfortable for DD. I have the Eibach/AGX setup and have no complaints about the ride.
4) Go with setup #1. You'll like it more, have adjustability and it will fit w/o problems.

HTH.
Old 07-11-2001, 10:12 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: suspension question from a novice (breaka_1_9)

I think you could use the ITR springs without changing the LCAs if you use different struts. However I don't think the ITR setup is agressive enough to provide the difference you're looking for on the track.

You might want to check out the H&R OE Sports/SofSports, which I think offer better spring rates than most other aftermarket springs without lowering to the point where you risk bottoming out the front shocks.

Also try a search on the competition forum, this stuff comes up often, and more autocrossers frequent that portion of the site.