Notices
Tech / Misc Tech topics that don't seem to go elsewhere.

secondary o2 sensor - does it affect motor performance/function?

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2003, 07:30 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Default secondary o2 sensor - does it affect motor performance/function?

moderators: please excuse this post if it's not in the right forum.

car: 2001 integra type-r - odbii
miles: 42,000 mi.
modifications: jdm length header, jdm oem cat., etc.

i have a question regarding the secondary oxygen sensor. i remember reading in a post some time ago about the secondary oxygen sensor not having any impact on the functionality of the motor.

i have been doing a lot of reading on o2 sensors (i'm new to fixing cars, etc.) and understand that the function of the primary oxygen sensor is to regulate air/fuel ratio by sensing o2 content in the exhaust gases at the outlet of the header pre-cat. i did also find that the secondary o2 sensor is used to determine if the catalytic converter is doing its deed; again by sensing the o2 content in the exhaust system post-cat. only this time, the ecu takes the voltage differential of the two o2 sensors.

i am running a jdm oem itr cat for my spoon exhaust system with my secondary o2 sensor ziptied to the shift linkage. apparently, the jdm cats don't have a bung for a secondary o2 sensor (that i am aware of?). i keep getting a cel (code 63: o2 sensor, high/low voltage, slow resp.). i keep resetting it by pulling the back-up radio fuse only to naturally have the cel come back up in a few days.

should i be worried about this code? is it simply telling me that the cat is not working properly? i'm just trying to be as cautious as possible and am hoping that the cel light is just a warning, not an indication that my motor is not running properly.

any help or comments would be greatly appreciated. thanks!

cliff notes: cel 63 secondary o2 sensor, is it just an indication of bad cat or something worse?