Notices
Paint and Body Auto Body Repair, Painting and Prep

Best rust protection?

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2016, 02:12 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Best rust protection?

So I bought myself an EP1 Civic and it is miraculously pretty rust free for the place I live in, Ireland, so having in mind that I would love to keep the car for a while what would be the best way to prevent rust from appearing, which will happen if I don't do anything.

It has to be doable at home, I am a mechanic so I have knowledge enough to do it myself but don't have the best equipment at the moment. So cannot fully dissasemble everything while the car is on stands and do it then.
Old 12-23-2016, 12:05 AM
Shit Posts: 15

Default Re: Best rust protection?

Undercoating for bare metal will work.

Since you cannot disassemble it all, I would at least put all sides on jack stands and spray the wheel wells and spray as much as you can under the car.

Sand any rust you have, prep the metal and the rest of it and spray undercoating or 2k epoxy primer then undercoat it.
Old 12-23-2016, 01:19 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Originally Posted by JDMswagSerf
Undercoating for bare metal will work.

Since you cannot disassemble it all, I would at least put all sides on jack stands and spray the wheel wells and spray as much as you can under the car.

Sand any rust you have, prep the metal and the rest of it and spray undercoating or 2k epoxy primer then undercoat it.
I was looking more into active prevention methods like hammerite or POR15

Any ideas on those?
Old 12-24-2016, 12:28 AM
Shit Posts: 15

You could use por15. If you have any rust I would at least get rid of the rust then apply it.
Old 01-14-2017, 06:47 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Check out my friend Pete's DIY autoschool. HE's got a video on por15. Check it out.
Old 01-14-2017, 08:33 AM
On vacation