Notices
Introduce Yourself If you're new to Honda-Tech, please take a moment to check in, introduce yourself and show us your ride!!

Ej1 no start when raining

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2017, 08:05 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon6 Ej1 no start when raining

hey guys so I'm new to Honda tech and I've been encountering some problems on my home stock d16z6. So when it's raining and I go to turn it on it just cranks and cranks but no start. ONLY WHEN IT RAINS! but if I leave the ignition on for a few minutes Fuel pump will kick on and CEL will turn off and then it'll start. Any ideas to what it might be? I was thinking the fuel pump but other people have mentioned it's the grounds. What do u guys think?
Thanks 🙏
Old 02-20-2017, 05:45 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Ej1 no start when raining

Does the fuel pump not cut on when you first turn the key on? Have your tried checking for spark or fuel when its doing this before you leave the key on? Need a little more info on what you have tried or done prior to posting.
Old 02-22-2017, 07:03 PM
Honda-Tech Member

When it's raining no CEL will be on after a few minutes of leaving the ignition on the ON position it'll eventually kick on and CEL will turn off. I have no spark when it's at this state. Also tried checking the code will CEL is on but it will give me nothing
Old 02-23-2017, 07:47 PM
Honda-Tech Member

The only time I had any symptoms similar was when my distributor cap was cracked and moisture had gotten to my coil and was causing it to short.. it would act intermediate and go out but only when it rained..
Old 02-24-2017, 12:53 PM
Honda-Tech Member