Notices
Hybrid / Engine Swaps Discussions about non-stock engine swaps into Honda cars. This is not a forum for hybrid gas/electric cars.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Is this swap possible?

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2002, 10:54 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is this swap possible?

I am new to scene of Honda's. I just recently purchased a 93 Civic CX. I was shopping around for Honda swaps. . .and all my local speed shops want about $3200 for a complete B16a2/3 swap.

My questions is. . .is it possible for me to do the swap on my own? I have littlle/none experience with working on cars. I'm very good at following diagrams and instructions. Is there some website where I can get step-by-step directions on how to install this engine?

Also. . .is it absolutely necessary to have a "lift" when removing and installing an engine? Could I possibly do the swap in my garage with everyday tools?

Should I just go ahead and fork out the extra money to have someone else do it?

Thanks

[Modified by 93SSPHatch, 7:55 PM 5/4/2002]
Old 05-04-2002, 11:04 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Is this swap possible? (93SSPHatch)

[quote]I am new to scene of Honda's. I just recently purchased a 93 Civic CX. I was shopping around for Honda swaps. . .and all my local speed shops want about $3200 for a complete B16a2/3 swap. [/ quote]
That's a decent price for a second gen B16a w/ hydraulic tranny, make sure it's COMPLETE!

My questions is. . .is it possible for me to do the swap on my own? I have littlle/none experience with working on cars. I'm very good at following diagrams and instructions. Is there some website where I can get step-by-step directions on how to install this engine?
I did my b18c swap out of my own garage, it took a while but it was worth it.
Go here for swap info... http://hybrid.honda-perf.org/tech/index.html