Honda Accord (1990 - 2002) Includes 1997 - 1999 Acura CL

head unit problems

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2004, 04:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default head unit problems

i had just installed a pioneer p860mp on my accord 98 and after it was running ok for a day i decided to hook up the amp, but there was a lot of noise, so i started playing with the amp and all of a sudden the head unit goes out and i smell something burning but its faint..so i figure its probably a burnt fuse but everytime i replace the 10a fuse, i hear the speaker crackle then it immediately burns out..is the head unit dead? the amp is now disconnected..but it still does that and i've gone through a pack of fuses already. or is there something else that might have burned out as well
Old 06-30-2004, 05:14 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Re: head unit problems (hob4G)

well, you know what they say about electronic

"once the white smoke is out, no more magic"
Old 06-30-2004, 05:29 PM

Either your hear unit has some serious problems, or there are loose wires somewhere. Take it out of the dash and check EVERY wire. If it isnt being used, make sure it has electrical tape on it. Also, check the connections with your speakers, as they could be botched as well. I recommend re-wiring your speakers with new speaker wire. This will ultimately give you better sound. If all that doesn't help, try taking it to your nearest car audio store for testing. Beware of places that ask for your address though... Where I'm from, that address is generally used to retrieve the product after it is installed in your vehicle, so it can be sold again. Not exactly fun to deal with, as the cops won't do anything. Ok, I'm done ranting now, good luck!
Old 06-30-2004, 06:25 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post