Notices

Would this sequential twin turbo setup work (theoretically)?

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2006, 06:22 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Would this sequential twin turbo setup work (theoretically)?

I've been throwing this idea around in my head for a couple years, but I'm not real sure how it would actually work.

The purpose would be to have a large turbo that can sustain torque at the upper end of the RPM limit. However a turbo like that usually has less that stellar boost capabilities down low (2000-3000 RPM) where much of the daily driving is, not to mention the obvious lag as the turbo builds steam.

So my idea is to have a smaller turbo downstream. Most likely a slightly undersized turbo for what you need. The idea would be something that could build about 7 PSI around 2000-3000 RPM so that you don't have to downshift when driving around.

So the way it would work, is that during partial throttle the large turbo would not spool very much, thus the wastegate would direct all exhaust gas through the main turbo. The gas would then go to the smaller turbo which would spool quickly. This would give you instant boost, but at the same time make the engine seem artificially bigger to the first turbo and make it spool up quicker (like injecting nitrous to help spool up). The second wastegate would then limited to like 7 PSI (since 0.5 bar springs are common).

To keep the smaller turbo from over spooling you would probably need like 2 50mm wastegates (or 1 big wastegate if they make them around the 70mm range). 2x50mm would be about as much as cross-section as a 2.75" tube, factor in the smaller turbo itself and you've probably got 3" worth of passage way.