Notices

Welding problem!

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2003, 04:33 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Welding problem!

I'm not an expert welder but I just learned on my own about 2 months ago and started welding.. I am having a serious problem welding the 5 bolt flange that bolts up to the turbo .. it is a 1/2" steel exhaust housing flange that blocks off the wastegate hole so you can run external gate. I got it from roadrace actually.. the problem is that I can't get a good weld between that and the 2 1/2" mandrel bend exhaust pipe.. It holds on no prob.. but has tons and tons of leaks around it.. I put muffler weld putty .. that stuff you get from pep boys all over it and it seems fine now.. but for future reference.. would getting the argon gas or whatever gas that is to make a tig weld help? I have a lincoln electric welder.. A-D settings and wire speed.. like 350 from home depot.. any ideas?
Old 01-22-2003, 05:30 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Welding problem! (spike)

turn up the heat, and put the wire feed on 3...it worked great for me....
its all about the "bead". without the "bead", there is no such thing as a clean weld...
ps...if you start melting through the exhaust tubing, then turn the heat down one click...
Old 01-22-2003, 05:33 AM

Default Re: Welding problem! (Tinker219)

by turn up the heat.. you mean put it on D? I had it on D with a wire feed of like 2.5.. it seemed like a good bead until we pressure tested it and it liked like a sob!
Old 01-22-2003, 05:35 AM

how did you pressure test it?
Old 01-22-2003, 05:48 AM

Default Re: Welding problem! (Phoenix GSR)

don't laugh! we pressure test ever IC pipe and exhaust pipe.. we get the leaf blower out and stuff a rag in the other end.. then turn the leaf blower on the highest setting and use a spong to put soapy water around the weld.. if it bubbles there's a leak.. may seem like a bit of a rig.. but let me tell you.. it works great!
Old 01-22-2003, 06:14 AM