Notices

nitrous question

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2005, 05:39 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default nitrous question

Alright guys I'm a noob so be gentle. I have a first gen b16 with skunk 2 stage 2 cams I was thinking about putting a 75 shot on it. but people tell me the duration is to high on the stage 2's and it would cause detonation. any advice will be welcome.
Old 06-13-2005, 05:46 AM
All Motor Mentor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: nitrous question (BNiceB16)

I wouldn't worry about the cams and duration, you'll be fine. What you have to be concerned about is to make sure the engine is in reasonably good shape to begin with, is decently tuned and has a reliable fuel system. If all those things are in order, spray away, just don't be stupid with it like spraying every time you pull out of the driveway. Nitrous isn't magic and it's not what most people try to scare others into believing. It's just one more way to allow your engine to burn more fuel which in turn will make more power.

Try visiting some of the nitrous manufacturers websites and reading their Q&A sites, it will give you a better understanding of what it's all about.
Old 06-14-2005, 03:23 AM

Default Re: nitrous question (00Red_SiR)

the motor is fine I just want to avoid detonation at all cost cuz I understand that is what causes major problems
Old 06-14-2005, 04:30 AM
Honda-Tech Member

like he said make sure your fuel system is in tip top shape, even replace the filter, etc.

To avoid detonation its nice to retard the timing a couple degree while spraying. Also make sure you use the highest octane avail.
Old 06-14-2005, 05:14 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: nitrous question (Used2beAb16)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote, originally posted by BNiceB16 &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">people tell me the duration is to high on the stage 2's and it would cause detonation</TD></TR></TABLE>