Notices

Nitrous bottle, when do you refill...help

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2002, 03:57 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Nitrous bottle, when do you refill...help

Hi all, I am new to nitrous, and I require some assitance...

I had my first bottle filled, and i kept the bottle in my garage, and when i open up the bottle valve, i am only reading around 700psi, even though the bottle was full. I ran a few times, didn't really feel much difference. I know I have to get the bottle press to around 900-1000psi by warming up the bottle.

anyhow, after testing my set up a few times, repairing/fixing all the dam leaks...I also installed a neat special valve to open/close the nitrous inside from inside my car..etc..etc... i now only have around 4 to 5 pounds of nitrous in the bottle. I am still only reading about 700psi, and i tried to warm up the bottle with a paint stripper air heat gun, i did this for about 5 mins, and still, i only have 700psi or so.... how long do i have to heat up the bottle, or is 4-5 pounds not enuff and have to refill it already ??

any help would be greatly appreciated
Old 04-29-2002, 04:43 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Nitrous bottle, when do you refill...help (TyperDude27)

The easiest way to find out if you need a refill is to weigh the bottle. I believe an empty bottle weighs 12-14lbs? Add 10lbs of nitrous and you have a full bottle at around 25lbs. .

You can invest in a bottle warmer. It'll keep the bottle at operating temps (900psi)...esp if you live in a colder climate, or make a few runs during the night.

Also, I always empty the whole bottle before taking it in to get refilled. Just open the valve and let it ALL out. You'll lose whatever's left in the bottle (maybe a pound or less), but at least you'll know it's a FRESH bottle. I find that a small 50shot lasts about 8-10 full 1/4mile runs before it's almost empty.
Old 04-29-2002, 05:59 AM

Default Re: Nitrous bottle, when do you refill...help (Prelude_RCR)