Notices

Goin to the DARK SIDE!!! Some Q's!!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2004, 10:54 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Goin to the DARK SIDE!!! Some Q's!!!!!

**** it. I've been bitten by the bug too. I was an All-Motor guy but now I'm gonna sell my parts and get a Turbo kit for my 2000 GSR. I'll be browsing these forums alot often now, so treat me like a family.

I'm a Turbo NOOB so I'll be asking around alot of questions. Please be nice. It's not like you're born knowin the Turbo ****.

Anyways... let me give some info about my car first.

2000 Integra GSR with the following performance mods:

- Skunk2 Stage 1 Cams
- Skunk2 Cam Gears
- Skunk2 Intake Manifold
- ITR AEM CAI
- USDM DC 4-1 header
- Tanabe Super Hyper Medallion Exhaust
- Apex'i VAFC
- Benen 3 Point Strut Brace
- B&M Fuel Pressure Regulator
- AEM Hi-Flow Fuel Rail

I also have a Header-Tech header, Skunk2 valvesprings / retainers, chipped p28 ecu with OBD1 harness, and an ACT XACT Prolite flywheel I was gonna install before I changed my mind to go Turbo.

Now I'm either gonna get a Greddy Turbo kit w/ Intercooler kit or a Turbonetics (Fmax) Turbo kit. I don't wanna do anything too extreme. I just wanna run 7-10lbs of boost. My goal will be to hit 250-300wHP and be RELIABLE!

Now I know some of my NA parts will need to go.

HELP ME ANSWER SOME QUESTIONS PLEASE!!

I'm gonna put GS-R cams back in since Skunk2 Stage 1's are too big to boost with. Now should I still use my Skunk2 cam gears or will the Stock cam gears work fine with the Turbo setup? Will adjusting the cam gears on the GS-R cams when tuning give me better gains or will it be the same as using stock cam gears at TDC?

I'm selling:

Skunk2 Stage 1 cams - GS-R cams will replace them
Header - Turbo manifold will replace it
AEM CAI - Charge pipe will replace it
chipped p28 ecu - Won't need to rev to 9000rpm with a Turbo
Skunk2 Valvesprings/Retainers - Won't need to rev pass 8000rpm