Notices

B18b, LsVtec, or B18c...Which should i boost?

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2012, 05:56 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default B18b, LsVtec, or B18c...Which should i boost?

Its been awhile since ive been on HT, Im glad to be back. I used to own an all motor 96 GSR. I just recently purchased a 95 Integra Ls with a great body. I have different intentions with this Teg. Id like to BOOST. I am a NOOB when it comes to Boost and id like some quick opinions on what platform i should use. Before anyone tells me that i need to do some reading and research, i have and im just not finding the answers ive been looking for.

I have a B18b in the car now. Im trying to decide if i should just build and boost the B18b, should i get a Vtec head (more than likely a GSR) and make it an LsVtec, or should i just do a full swap and go with the B18c1?

Im not very familiar with boost yet and im just looking for a little constructive criticism.
Ive heard the GSR head flows well for boost but the low compression of the B18b can produce a lot of power as well. I do know that the GSR block comes with under piston oil squirters and a crank girdle .

Id really appreciate anyones opinions that could steer me in the right direction, i dont need anyone bashing me for being a NOOB...everyone has been one before
Old 04-22-2012, 06:34 AM

Received 234 Likes on 209 Posts
Default Re: B18b, LsVtec, or B18c...Which should i boost?

Yeah, its definitely been a while for you. That "low compression / best for boost" argument went out the window just about 8-10 years ago.

In direct answer to your question, either the GS-R or the B18B are both great boost platforms, with the VTEC head doing a lot better in the upper powerband. The LS/VTEC works too, but because of the complexity of it, you're running some differing oil lines that might make things a little complicated for you.