Notices
Road Racing / Autocross & Time Attack Road Racing / AUTOX, HPDE, Time Attack

Brake capability

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2014, 07:23 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brake capability

I've got a question about which brake setup I should use, I'm hoping someone can offer me some good advice. First a little background:

The car:
1995 Integra LS
B20Vtec w/ CP Pistons, H Beam Rods
B16a Gearset w/ Type R LSD
Hot Bits DT1 Coilovers
Wilwood 12.2" x .81" Front Brakes w/ DTC-30
2002? Civic Si / RSX Rear Brakes (10.1" I believe) w/ Hawk Blue

Lots of other race goodies which aren't that relevant to my post

I've been running the car in Targa Newfoundland for the past 2 years, and again this year in Sept.

2012:
Ran current setup with Hawk HP+. Pads weren't up to the task, faded.

2013:
Ran current setup exactly as described above.

2014: (Future)
I want to change from 17" wheels to 15". There aren't any good tires available in the size required in 17", and the wheels I have are all cracked or bent. I need more sidewall and cheaper tires.

My question is:
Will the ITR front brakes with an agressive pad (Maybe DTC-70?) provide similar fade resistance to the Wilwood setup with DTC-30?
Old 04-28-2014, 03:04 PM
Honda-Tech Member

We run a 95 delsol VTEC at AMP in Nova Scotia, currently running stock Brakes, with super blue brake fluid and hawk DTC 60 in the front and DTC 30 rear. Had a B17A1 motor that might have made 135WHP. 4.7 fd and a good diff. Car weights 2480LBS race trim. We bleed the brakes every second event and pads last 2.5 events. We have never had brake fade with this setup. Last year we race the last 2 events and did the 3 hour enduro, just a general check over on the brakes. Had no problems at all.

This year we added a B18B from a 96 type r and might try the DTC-70 pads. We have enough pads to do May race weekend but will need pads for June. So I can give you a idea what to expect from them then.