Go Back   Honda-Tech > Honda and Acura Technical Forums > Forced Induction
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to Honda-Tech!
Welcome to Honda-Tech.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Honda-Tech community today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-27-2011, 06:25 PM   #1
jdmhondak9
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
jdmhondak9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: MASSDRIVEN
Posts: 190
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Oil catch can with turbo application

So its hard to find a straight answer for the proper way to set up a oil waste can. Im in the process of installing one on my b16, and plan on making a diy with pictures as i install it. My plan is to come off of the valve cover and into the can, then out of the can and into the intake befor the turbo. Inside the catch can i plan on putting some steel wool and possibly a peace of stainless steel kitchen scrubber on the top to catch the flakey steel wool. Has any on done this befor ? with the return line into the turbo ? i figured it was either that or into the exhaust. any feedback would be cool, i will post pictures tommoro when i put everything together.
jdmhondak9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 07:27 PM   #2
phat00civic
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dirty Jersey
Posts: 392
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Oil catch can with turbo application

All my catch can does as well as everyone else I know is to catch oil, not to supply it. A honda burns oil through the exhaust more then off the valve cover. The last time I changed my oil the catch can was empty to say the least. Supply the turbo line from the oil pan, nothing more, nothing less.
phat00civic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 08:51 PM   #3
jdmhondak9
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
jdmhondak9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: MASSDRIVEN
Posts: 190
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Oil catch can with turbo application

well yea exacly, the catch can wouldnt be supplying oil at all, it would be traping it. if anything it would just be taking the engine steam/smoke, riding it of the oil and redisidue-catching it in the can, and then puting the smoke through the turbo through the intercooler and back in the motor.
jdmhondak9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 09:03 PM   #4
phat00civic
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dirty Jersey
Posts: 392
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Oil catch can with turbo application

So what are you trying to accomplish? Not having to empty it?
phat00civic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 09:16 PM   #5
racebum
Honda-Tech Member
2002 Chevrolet Corvette
 
racebum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Oregon
Posts: 9,858
iTrader Rating: (0)
Racebum
Send a message via AIM to racebum Send a message via Yahoo to racebum
Default Re: Oil catch can with turbo application

the catch is more of a vent. since you disable the pcv for boost you need a place to vent crankcase pressure. a breather on the valve cover and a vented catch can ran from the black box to the can is a simple way to meet your needs.
__________________
Mountain View Carpet Cleaning also found at carpet cleaning beaverton Do you own a turbo honda? see turboinstall.net
racebum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 08:49 AM   #6
jdmhondak9
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
jdmhondak9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: MASSDRIVEN
Posts: 190
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Oil catch can with turbo application

no no not so i dont have to empty it, the oil gets traped in the can, and the air rises and goes through the line back to the turbo.,, but on that note, could i come off of the black box, where the pcv valve goes to under the IM ? the black box is considered the vacume housing on the backside of the block right underneath the intake manifold, correct ?
jdmhondak9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 04:56 PM   #7
EsotericImage
RIP Honda Tuning Magazine
1999 Honda Civic
 
EsotericImage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ft Lauderdale
Posts: 4,233
iTrader Rating: (8)
Default Re: Oil catch can with turbo application

theres soo many write ups on this..

Endyne has probably the best compact kit ive seen. I would keep the PCV system intact if its a DD, but if a track car only, the the VC and back of block will be optimal.

If its just a DD, then your in vac more then boost.. so when u get into boost, the pcv will close and then the vent will release the blowby. theres a cap for black box hole.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Artikgrau325is
People try so hard to be unique, they lose their sense of style
http://www.hondatuningmagazine.com/e...013_road_rage/

http://www.hondatuningmagazine.com/t...ode_checklist/
EsotericImage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 05:00 PM   #8
phat00civic
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dirty Jersey
Posts: 392
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Oil catch can with turbo application

Are you looking at this:

Click the image to open in full size.
phat00civic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 05:04 PM   #9
EsotericImage
RIP Honda Tuning Magazine
1999 Honda Civic
 
EsotericImage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ft Lauderdale
Posts: 4,233
iTrader Rating: (8)
Default Re: Oil catch can with turbo application

^^

Me? Yes. but dont do the drain back.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Artikgrau325is
People try so hard to be unique, they lose their sense of style
http://www.hondatuningmagazine.com/e...013_road_rage/

http://www.hondatuningmagazine.com/t...ode_checklist/
EsotericImage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 05:27 PM   #10
phat00civic
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dirty Jersey
Posts: 392
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Oil catch can with turbo application

Quote:
Originally Posted by EsotericImage View Post
^^

Me? Yes. but dont do the drain back.
I am confused as to why you would want to do that? The drain back that is.
phat00civic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 05:37 PM   #11
EsotericImage
RIP Honda Tuning Magazine
1999 Honda Civic
 
EsotericImage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ft Lauderdale
Posts: 4,233
iTrader Rating: (8)
Default Re: Oil catch can with turbo application

well, to let the accumulated oil drain back into pan.. but theres condensation that will also drain back.. no bueno.

u just have to keep an eye on it
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Artikgrau325is
People try so hard to be unique, they lose their sense of style
http://www.hondatuningmagazine.com/e...013_road_rage/

http://www.hondatuningmagazine.com/t...ode_checklist/
EsotericImage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 05:41 PM   #12
LightningTeg
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
LightningTeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 2,944
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Oil catch can with turbo application

Only builds condensation from sitting for awhile, at least thats what people tell me. I dont have a drain back setup either.
__________________
98' DC4, 602whp / 453 ft-lbs, NonVTEC Highway monster
97' EJ8, JDM ITR Swapped, Corner carver
LightningTeg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 07:25 PM   #13
jdmhondak9
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
jdmhondak9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: MASSDRIVEN
Posts: 190
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Oil catch can with turbo application

that set up you posted is a nice kit, mine isnt that fancy i dont have a briether filter on the top like that. i have my set up almost done, ill have pics up tommoro i hope, but i do have question befor i finish. would you guys recomend that i tie in the line from the pvc valve into my feed into the catch can. i would asume that would just act as the crank case release. so i would use a T fitting and come out of the black box where the pvc valve goes and into the line coming off the valve cover and into the can. again ill post pictures tomoro of the progress, thanks for the feedback guys.
jdmhondak9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 08:46 AM   #14
jdmhondak9
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
jdmhondak9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: MASSDRIVEN
Posts: 190
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Oil catch can with turbo application

Quote:
Originally Posted by EsotericImage View Post
theres soo many write ups on this..

If its just a DD, then your in vac more then boost.. so when u get into boost, the pcv will close and then the vent will release the blowby. theres a cap for black box hole.
Im confused on this.. the whole leaving the pvc intact, the car is tech a daily driver but iv been reading that pvc;s act as boost leaks when they fail because they are not regulated to work both ways with pressure coming in and out from the turbo and vacume lines. could i either A- delete the pvc completely and put a cap on the black box where the pvc used to be. or B- come off of the black box where the pvc did and splice the line into the feed coming off the valve cover and into the can. i would assume that would be the best wouldnt it ??
jdmhondak9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 08:49 AM   #15
jdmhondak9
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
jdmhondak9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: MASSDRIVEN
Posts: 190
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Oil catch can with turbo application

i went from a N/A high compression h22 in my civic. to my new project turbo b16, first turbo car iv made so for all the OGs cut me some slack if im saying somthin wrong
jdmhondak9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 09:30 AM   #16
phat00civic
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dirty Jersey
Posts: 392
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Oil catch can with turbo application

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmhondak9 View Post
Im confused on this.. the whole leaving the pvc intact, the car is tech a daily driver but iv been reading that pvc;s act as boost leaks when they fail because they are not regulated to work both ways with pressure coming in and out from the turbo and vacume lines. could i either A- delete the pvc completely and put a cap on the black box where the pvc used to be. or B- come off of the black box where the pvc did and splice the line into the feed coming off the valve cover and into the can. i would assume that would be the best wouldnt it ??

I have seen this before:

Click the image to open in full size.

I forgot how I have mine but I have no boost leak, I have issues when it gets cold outside
phat00civic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 09:33 AM   #17
kbouchard1092
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
kbouchard1092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northeast
Posts: 802
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Oil catch can with turbo application

Quote:
Originally Posted by phat00civic View Post
Are you looking at this:

Click the image to open in full size.
This is the exact kit i run....no issues. i change my oil every 1000, 1500 miles max. I dont think condensation will have much effect if youre driving the car frequently...if the car sits for a long time then change the oil.
__________________
99 EM1 Sleeved Ls/Vtec Turbo-411Whp/301tq @ 20PSI T3/T4OE 60trim .63 a/r
S300 controlled nitrous - 35shot 480whp/385tq @ 20 PSI
2006 Acura Tl A-Spec 6 Spd Daily Driver
kbouchard1092 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 10:00 AM   #18
phat00civic
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dirty Jersey
Posts: 392
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Oil catch can with turbo application

Quote:
Originally Posted by kbouchard1092 View Post
This is the exact kit i run....no issues. i change my oil every 1000, 1500 miles max. I dont think condensation will have much effect if youre driving the car frequently...if the car sits for a long time then change the oil.
Change your oil that often? Can I ask why?
phat00civic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 10:12 AM   #19
racebum
Honda-Tech Member
2002 Chevrolet Corvette
 
racebum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Oregon
Posts: 9,858
iTrader Rating: (0)
Racebum
Send a message via AIM to racebum Send a message via Yahoo to racebum
Default Re: Oil catch can with turbo application

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmhondak9 View Post
Im confused on this.. the whole leaving the pvc intact, the car is tech a daily driver but iv been reading that pvc;s act as boost leaks when they fail because they are not regulated to work both ways with pressure coming in and out from the turbo and vacume lines. could i either A- delete the pvc completely and put a cap on the black box where the pvc used to be. or B- come off of the black box where the pvc did and splice the line into the feed coming off the valve cover and into the can. i would assume that would be the best wouldnt it ??
option 2 is quick and easy

run the VC and black box to a dual input vented catch can. this allows crank case pressure to have somewhere to go and traps any oil

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/AAF-ALL36109/

something like this would do the trick.

it's by all ways, virtually the same can that endyn is using, just costs a lot less
__________________
Mountain View Carpet Cleaning also found at carpet cleaning beaverton Do you own a turbo honda? see turboinstall.net

Last edited by racebum; 11-29-2011 at 10:36 AM.
racebum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 10:38 AM   #20
kbouchard1092
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
kbouchard1092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northeast
Posts: 802
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Oil catch can with turbo application

Quote:
Originally Posted by phat00civic View Post
Change your oil that often? Can I ask why?
i hardly drive the car, but when i do drive it its usually always on high boost and i usually drive it pretty hard. if it was a car i drove easy everyday i would prob change more like 2000 miles maybe 2500. Its cheap insurance too. Why not change it more frequently with a Turbo car thats driven hard. Alot of people change there after every track event.

I use Valvoline Race oil VR1 10w-30 Non-synthetic. Use to use castrol gtw but recently swtiched over
__________________
99 EM1 Sleeved Ls/Vtec Turbo-411Whp/301tq @ 20PSI T3/T4OE 60trim .63 a/r
S300 controlled nitrous - 35shot 480whp/385tq @ 20 PSI
2006 Acura Tl A-Spec 6 Spd Daily Driver
kbouchard1092 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 11:26 AM   #21
phat00civic
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dirty Jersey
Posts: 392
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Oil catch can with turbo application

Quote:
Originally Posted by kbouchard1092 View Post
i hardly drive the car, but when i do drive it its usually always on high boost and i usually drive it pretty hard. if it was a car i drove easy everyday i would prob change more like 2000 miles maybe 2500. Its cheap insurance too. Why not change it more frequently with a Turbo car thats driven hard. Alot of people change there after every track event.

I use Valvoline Race oil VR1 10w-30 Non-synthetic. Use to use castrol gtw but recently swtiched over
Have you ever sent your oil out for testing? You might not even been burning the oil down that much so you have to replace it. Although letting it sit is never optimal.
phat00civic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 11:30 AM   #22
kbouchard1092
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
kbouchard1092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northeast
Posts: 802
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Oil catch can with turbo application

Quote:
Originally Posted by phat00civic View Post
Have you ever sent your oil out for testing? You might not even been burning the oil down that much so you have to replace it. Although letting it sit is never optimal.
No never seemed worth the money when a oil change is 35-40$ My rings and ptw are set for high boost. So the gaps are much wider then OEM. This would definatly make the oil dirty faster. If i didnt run the car in high boost 90% of the time i wouldnt change so frequently. 1000-1500 miles usually takes me 6-8 weeks.
__________________
99 EM1 Sleeved Ls/Vtec Turbo-411Whp/301tq @ 20PSI T3/T4OE 60trim .63 a/r
S300 controlled nitrous - 35shot 480whp/385tq @ 20 PSI
2006 Acura Tl A-Spec 6 Spd Daily Driver
kbouchard1092 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 12:09 PM   #23
phat00civic
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dirty Jersey
Posts: 392
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Oil catch can with turbo application

Quote:
Originally Posted by kbouchard1092 View Post
No never seemed worth the money when a oil change is 35-40$ My rings and ptw are set for high boost. So the gaps are much wider then OEM. This would definatly make the oil dirty faster. If i didnt run the car in high boost 90% of the time i wouldnt change so frequently. 1000-1500 miles usually takes me 6-8 weeks.
This is OT but yes give it a try. We did this with my friends S/C Grand AM and were surprised at the results. It is amazing what you can find from those tests they do. I did speak to them for a bit and was surprised how long normal oil can really last for in a stock vehicle. This might be the reason why car manufactures are now able to do 10K oil changes for those on lease with no damage to the motor. In your case with the setup your oil will become dirty fast but then again this is the assumption. I would give it a try and see what the results are though.
phat00civic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 12:32 PM   #24
racebum
Honda-Tech Member
2002 Chevrolet Corvette
 
racebum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Oregon
Posts: 9,858
iTrader Rating: (0)
Racebum
Send a message via AIM to racebum Send a message via Yahoo to racebum
Default Re: Oil catch can with turbo application

Quote:
Originally Posted by kbouchard1092 View Post
No never seemed worth the money when a oil change is 35-40$ My rings and ptw are set for high boost. So the gaps are much wider then OEM. This would definatly make the oil dirty faster. If i didnt run the car in high boost 90% of the time i wouldnt change so frequently. 1000-1500 miles usually takes me 6-8 weeks.
you realize oil analysis is $25?
__________________
Mountain View Carpet Cleaning also found at carpet cleaning beaverton Do you own a turbo honda? see turboinstall.net
racebum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 01:25 PM   #25
jdmhondak9
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
jdmhondak9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: MASSDRIVEN
Posts: 190
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Oil catch can with turbo application

Quote:
Originally Posted by racebum View Post
option 2 is quick and easy

run the VC and black box to a dual input vented catch can. this allows crank case pressure to have somewhere to go and traps any oil

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/AAF-ALL36109/

something like this would do the trick.

it's by all ways, virtually the same can that endyn is using, just costs a lot less
thanks for the input, that is exacly what im doing, my can is simular but a little diffrent, i am runing it that way, what do you think about the line coming out of the can going to the turbo intake filter ?
jdmhondak9 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
b16, catch, civic, em1, empty, honda, line, lines, make, oil, real, run, setup, turbo, vacuum

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ITBs an a 1200 EB-series Motor StephT All Motor/ Naturally Aspirated 20 08-01-2014 04:40 PM
Catch can? Pellegrini808 Forced Induction 1 04-28-2014 12:51 PM
Crankcase Ventilation Mod Veggie Man Tech/Misc 10 01-19-2013 06:32 PM
Catchcan placement - does it need to be placed very high? Vagitarian Forced Induction 8 01-03-2013 07:42 AM
Diy catch can, filter venting or can I simply drill lots of holes on the top? Vagitarian Forced Induction 29 12-08-2012 08:18 PM



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:44 AM.



2008 Copyright, InternetBrands Inc.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Honda-Tech.com content, comments, or advertising. Honda-Tech.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Honda-Tech.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Emails & Contact Details