Go Back   Honda-Tech > Honda and Acura Model-Specific Technical Forums > Acura Integra
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to Honda-Tech!
Welcome to Honda-Tech.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Honda-Tech community today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-06-2011, 01:56 AM   #1
JDMjackyboy
Honda-Tech Member
1995 Acura Integra
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 55
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Vtec Problems

Hey Honda-Tech Members!

I have recently built a ls/vtec engine in my 95 integra ls.

My problem is my vtec wont turn on when it is supposed to and i have a few ideas why but i wanted to see which one was correct, or if there was an idea i didnt think of.

So the car is running a OBD2B wiring harness thoughout the car and engine bay, then it has a xencron harness which converts it to obd1 to my p28ecu. There is a wire coming out of a4 for vtec from the xencron harness and also there is a wire in the original harness which is green/yellow which is supposed to be the vtec solenoid wire, but there is no plug in the engine bay for vtec, so i sliced into the green/ yellow wire and wired it strait to my vtec solinoid and it still doesnt turn on, so my question is what is wrong? i found a green/yellow wire which goes into one of the giant plugs in the engine bay, but no wire that comes out of it, so i didnt know what the problem is. I am also having idle issues while the engine is warming up, and i read this may have somthing to do with the IVAC system

Let me know what u guys think, here are some pics of what i am working with:

http://s904.photobucket.com/albums/ac247/JDMjackyboy/


Thanks!
JDMjackyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 08:18 AM   #2
mark@silbernage
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 551
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Vtec Problems

Hmm, isn't there a VTEC pressure switch on the USDM cars? Even if you're using the JDM VTEC solenoid, the ECU may be expecting the switch. You might look here for a bypass: http://www.honda-tech.com/showthread.php?t=2278725

If that's not it (perhaps your ECU is JDM) - there may be a temp requirement also, so make sure the engine's up to temp and that your temp sensors are wired and working correctly.

FYI - Mark
mark@silbernage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 09:03 AM   #3
VTECBrag
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 11
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Vtec Problems

make sure you have oil reaching the head's vtec assemby viathe bypass, check if the pressure is good enough. My P28 didnt check for VTEC oil pressure switch
__________________
93 BB4 Prelude H22A M2J5 Tranny
96 DB8 Teg Auto Daily Driver
VTECBrag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 09:06 AM   #4
VTECBrag
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 11
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Vtec Problems

check for the CEL codes
__________________
93 BB4 Prelude H22A M2J5 Tranny
96 DB8 Teg Auto Daily Driver
VTECBrag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2011, 07:21 PM   #5
JDMjackyboy
Honda-Tech Member
1995 Acura Integra
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 55
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Vtec Problems

o sorry i forgot to add my p28 ecu is bypassing the pressure switch becuase, im using the jdm vtec solenoid, why check engine light is not on, but there is a light on that the original owner cut out of the dash, this car has alot wierd going on with it so im sorry if things arent esactly up to snuff.

is it possible to check cel codes without the CEL actualy lighting up?

ive tried to hit vtec when the engine is completly warm with the temp being just below half.

let me know thanks! il try to keep figuring it out, and maybe i should just buy a new obd1 wiring harness or somthing? thanks

`jack
JDMjackyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 03:32 PM   #6
JDMjackyboy
Honda-Tech Member
1995 Acura Integra
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 55
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Vtec Problems

still cant figure it out
JDMjackyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 11:06 PM   #7
JDMjackyboy
Honda-Tech Member
1995 Acura Integra
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 55
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Vtec Problems

would vtec not engage if the oil pressure switch was not hooked up? not the vtec oil pressure but just the regular oil pressure switch.
JDMjackyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 11:35 PM   #8
JDMjackyboy
Honda-Tech Member
1995 Acura Integra
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 55
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Vtec Problems

bump!
JDMjackyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 11:11 AM   #9
JDMjackyboy
Honda-Tech Member
1995 Acura Integra
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 55
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Vtec Problems

bump!
JDMjackyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 07:24 PM   #10
JDMjackyboy
Honda-Tech Member
1995 Acura Integra
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 55
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Vtec Problems

please help!
bump
JDMjackyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 08:59 PM   #11
mark@silbernage
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 551
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Vtec Problems

I think the earlier advice is the best - get the codes. Figure out which wire is CEL and hook up a bulb directly to read the codes if you have to..
mark@silbernage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 04:52 PM   #12
JDMjackyboy
Honda-Tech Member
1995 Acura Integra
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 55
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Vtec Problems

Update:

So i went to try to read the codes but the CEL code reader was un able to connect.
Could this be becuase im using obd1 ecu and obd2b cel code hookup plug? Any ideas? thanks alot!
JDMjackyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 06:28 PM   #13
jAyee124
Honda-Tech Member
1995 Honda Civic
 
jAyee124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hayward, CA
Posts: 41
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to jAyee124
Default Re: Vtec Problems

Is she warmed up b4 your trying to make her scream? That will make a difference..with mine at least..
jAyee124 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 12:45 AM   #14
JDMjackyboy
Honda-Tech Member
1995 Acura Integra
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 55
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Vtec Problems

yeah all warmed up has idle problems seems like a vaccum leak but i dont know, i heard it could be a problem with idle control valve or somthing, and vtec wouldnt turn on, i wish i could figure out why i cant check the CEL Codes. Any idea why i wouldnt be able to check the codes?
JDMjackyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 02:57 AM   #15
HondaPartsHero
Technical Hero
Garage is empty, add now
 
HondaPartsHero's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC, 28227
Posts: 8,088
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Vtec Problems

http://www.honda-tech.com/showthread.php?t=1901557

use this method
__________________
OBD1/2 SOHC/DOHC VTEC HARNESS
MINI ME SUBHARNESS
02 EXTENSION HARNESS
Hondapartshero.net
HondaPartsHero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 05:31 PM   #16
JDMjackyboy
Honda-Tech Member
1995 Acura Integra
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 55
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Vtec Problems

There is no actual CEL on, and i know it should be on becuase my o2 sensor is completly broken off, so is it possible to check what codes the the ecu is throwing without the light actually being on? and why isnt the light on!?

please help
JDMjackyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 06:19 PM   #17
mouab18c1
Honda-Tech Member
1997 Acura Integra
 
mouab18c1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Washington
Posts: 8,059
iTrader Rating: (5)
Default Re: Vtec Problems

First thing to do is to check why your CEL is not on with your o2 broken off. Take off your cluster to see if the bulb itself is dead or not. Then from there use the paperclip trick to jump your CEL.
__________________
Neptune RTP - HrTuning.com
www.Xenocron.com
95 GSR Partout http://hondamarketplace.com/showthread.php?t=3028136
mouab18c1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 07:20 PM   #18
dk=gsr
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: WIconsin
Posts: 326
iTrader Rating: (0)
dkgsr
Default Re: Vtec Problems

you should have a black wiring coming from your vtec solenoid too. cut the cover around the black wire and ground it. than it should work.
__________________
99 acura integra gsr -82mm low compression piston, type R cams, boosted ebay gt35R (NEEDS A TUNE!!!)
01 honda CRV - daily driver
dk=gsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 07:22 PM   #19
dk=gsr
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: WIconsin
Posts: 326
iTrader Rating: (0)
dkgsr
Default Re: Vtec Problems

if you need pictures than go to google and look for it. it should be there.
__________________
99 acura integra gsr -82mm low compression piston, type R cams, boosted ebay gt35R (NEEDS A TUNE!!!)
01 honda CRV - daily driver
dk=gsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 05:10 PM   #20
JDMjackyboy
Honda-Tech Member
1995 Acura Integra
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 55
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Vtec Problems

well the bulb is not dead becuase when i first turn the ignition it comes on then imediatly turns off. i thought vtec solinoid only had one wire? and then the vtec pressure sensor which i dont need has the ground and the wire that goes to ecu? if thats incorrect let me know! thank u for all the replys!
JDMjackyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 05:32 PM   #21
dk=gsr
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: WIconsin
Posts: 326
iTrader Rating: (0)
dkgsr
Default Re: Vtec Problems

no you need to ground your black wire form the vtec solenoid.
__________________
99 acura integra gsr -82mm low compression piston, type R cams, boosted ebay gt35R (NEEDS A TUNE!!!)
01 honda CRV - daily driver
dk=gsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2011, 03:13 PM   #22
JDMjackyboy
Honda-Tech Member
1995 Acura Integra
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 55
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Vtec Problems

there is no black wire coming from my vtec solinoid becuase i have a jdm vtec solinoid, meaning there is no vtec pressure switch which has the ground wire? i dont understand what u mean, there is only one green wire coming from the vtec solinoid no other wires. i took that wire and ran it to my ecu with a speaker wire and spliced into where the wire for the vtec solinoid is. is this not right? and how do i take apart my dash with being able to put it back together?
JDMjackyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 04:54 PM   #23
JDMjackyboy
Honda-Tech Member
1995 Acura Integra
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 55
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Vtec Problems

bump
JDMjackyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 04:34 PM   #24
JDMjackyboy
Honda-Tech Member
1995 Acura Integra
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 55
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Vtec Problems

please help car needs to get running right!
JDMjackyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 08:38 PM   #25
JDMjackyboy
Honda-Tech Member
1995 Acura Integra
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 55
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Vtec Problems

bump

brakes are starting to fade, dont know if this has to do with vtec not working and idle problems. still cant read codes
JDMjackyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
black, bypass, check, dead, engine, honda, integra, ivac, ls, lsvtec, missing, problems, recall, sensor, solinoid, turn, vtec, wire

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:27 PM.



2008 Copyright, InternetBrands Inc.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Honda-Tech.com content, comments, or advertising. Honda-Tech.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Honda-Tech.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Emails & Contact Details