Go Back   Honda-Tech > Honda and Acura Model-Specific Technical Forums > Honda Accord & Crosstour (2003 - Current)
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to Honda-Tech!
Welcome to Honda-Tech.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Honda-Tech community today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-29-2010, 10:05 AM   #1
billy ruben
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Reset procedure/tire pressure indicator.

Anyone familiar with the "reset" procedure for resetting tire pressure indicators for my 2009 Accord? Planning on new set of sneakers near future. Are specialty tools and/or equipt. necessary to complete this task?
billy ruben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 10:15 AM   #2
MSchu
My Name is Nobody
Garage is empty, add now
 
MSchu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 14,240
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Reset procedure/tire pressure indicator.

yes... you're going to need to go into the dealer for a "relearn/reset"

there is a reset tool available but I dont know if you want to get into that for something that will only be used once or twice a year(if you have summer/winter tires)

you may be able to borrow one form another honda owner in your area
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Targa250R View Post
Bourdais is like the Michael Andretti of F1, except Michael Andretti was already the Michael Andretti of F1
MSchu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 09:03 PM   #3
tech9174
Trial User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Reset procedure/tire pressure indicator.

honda dealerships has the tools to reset them
tech9174 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 09:35 PM   #4
DELuth
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
DELuth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 187
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Reset procedure/tire pressure indicator.

What the hell are you talking about???

What is there to relearn or reset???

Just mount the tires and go.
DELuth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 06:45 AM   #5
MSchu
My Name is Nobody
Garage is empty, add now
 
MSchu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 14,240
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Reset procedure/tire pressure indicator.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DELuth View Post
What the hell are you talking about???

What is there to relearn or reset???

Just mount the tires and go.
Not necessarily. the TMPS system needs to relearn/identify the individual units again many times after moving the wheels away from the vehicle. If you are lucky enough that it doesn't then yes... drive away. If you need to have them require the sensors.. Honda Dealership or buy the reset tool
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Targa250R View Post
Bourdais is like the Michael Andretti of F1, except Michael Andretti was already the Michael Andretti of F1
MSchu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 11:30 AM   #6
90sedan
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
90sedan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: WA
Posts: 2,327
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to 90sedan
Default Re: Reset procedure/tire pressure indicator.

There's some misinformation in here that i will try and clear up.

- If you are simply replacing the tires with a matching size, nothing needs to be done to the tpms system.

- If you are replacing the rims, you will need to swap the sensors into the new rim (be careful, they only need to be torqued to ~3lbft). There is no need to relearn or reprogram, as the tpms control unit will already have those sensor id's memorized.

- If you are replacing the tires/rims and the tires are a different size, it's recommended that the tpms low pressure indicator is adjusted to accommodate the new threshold (example: the low pressure threshold must be lowered when installing the hfp rim package).

- The tpms system shouldn't ever need to have the sensors id's relearned regardless of how long/far the wheels were away from the vehicle (as long as sensor battery is ok). Because the tpms control unit will only search for the 4 sensor id's that were programmed into it, and those id's won't change.
__________________
SpeedFactory Tuning and Race Fabrication
90 Ef Sedan
vitara d16
90sedan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 11:35 AM   #7
MSchu
My Name is Nobody
Garage is empty, add now
 
MSchu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 14,240
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Reset procedure/tire pressure indicator.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 90sedan View Post
There's some misinformation in here that i will try and clear up.

- If you are simply replacing the tires with a matching size, nothing needs to be done to the tpms system.

- If you are replacing the rims, you will need to swap the sensors into the new rim (be careful, they only need to be torqued to ~3lbft). There is no need to relearn or reprogram, as the tpms control unit will already have those sensor id's memorized.

- If you are replacing the tires/rims and the tires are a different size, it's recommended that the tpms low pressure indicator is adjusted to accommodate the new threshold (example: the low pressure threshold must be lowered when installing the hfp rim package).

- The tpms system shouldn't ever need to have the sensors id's relearned regardless of how long/far the wheels were away from the vehicle (as long as sensor battery is ok). Because the tpms control unit will only search for the 4 sensor id's that were programmed into it, and those id's won't change.


thank you for that clarity. There have been some owners that had to have the units reprogrammed after wheel removal. Not myself personally, but quite a few have reported this
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Targa250R View Post
Bourdais is like the Michael Andretti of F1, except Michael Andretti was already the Michael Andretti of F1
MSchu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 04:23 PM   #8
DELuth
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
DELuth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 187
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Reset procedure/tire pressure indicator.

And anyone that understands the system knows that moving the wheels away from the car will do nothing.

90sedan is 100% correct.

False hearsay is helping nobody. If you don't KNOW, don't post.
DELuth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 07:28 AM   #9
KWayRacing
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
KWayRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: MS, USA
Posts: 960
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Reset procedure/tire pressure indicator.

Agree 100%. I have moved thousands of tires away from the vehicle and never have had a problem. That makes absolutley no sense.
90Sedan's post is spot on. Good note about being careful of the torque value. You are actually suppose to replace the "washer" anytime the sensor is removed from a rim.
KWayRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2010, 04:26 PM   #10
yay321
Trial User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 6
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Reset procedure/tire pressure indicator.

Also keep in mind that if the "TPMS" light comes on than, its an error with the sensors...vs, the tire with an exclamation point light, is for low tire pressure....i see people break the sensors all the time when mounting tiires...so if the TPMS light comes on and stays on, who ever installed your tires may have broken your sensors.
yay321 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
2009, 2010, accord, clear, honda, indicator, insight, low, monitor, pilot, pressure, procedures, reset, s2000, tire, tpms

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:16 PM.



2008 Copyright, InternetBrands Inc.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Honda-Tech.com content, comments, or advertising. Honda-Tech.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Honda-Tech.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Emails & Contact Details