Go Back   Honda-Tech > Honda and Acura Model-Specific Technical Forums > Acura Integra
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to Honda-Tech!
Welcome to Honda-Tech.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Honda-Tech community today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-21-2007, 03:28 PM   #1
beastman@
Junior Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
beastman@'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BOSSton, MA, usa
Posts: 343
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to beastman@
Default 1st gear won't hit redline (or even 7k)

Today I decided to try testing out my 1998 GSR's full potential.

I was planning on revving first gear all the way up, but at around 6500-7000 the rpms just dropped like the power was cut. So I shifted to 2nd and kept going, kinda bummed.

Any ideas why this happened? The car does have 147,xxx and it's bone stock.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by hardvtec90
My question is, does the position of your gas pedal have anything to do with how hard your tec cracks?
beastman@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2007, 03:44 PM   #2
flip b18b
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
flip b18b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: westbrook, c.t, usa
Posts: 1,043
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to flip b18b
Default Re: 1st gear won't hit redline (beastman@)

Have you checked out your cat? might be cloged
__________________
98 acura integra
aim is flipb18b
FLIP
http://www.thereasonyouhaveinternet.com
flip b18b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2007, 03:52 PM   #3
beastman@
Junior Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
beastman@'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BOSSton, MA, usa
Posts: 343
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to beastman@
Default Re: 1st gear won't hit redline (flip b18b)

Nope, but that would be great since I'm looking to replace it anyway. is this a common problem?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by hardvtec90
My question is, does the position of your gas pedal have anything to do with how hard your tec cracks?
beastman@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 04:30 AM   #4
flip b18b
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
flip b18b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: westbrook, c.t, usa
Posts: 1,043
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to flip b18b
Default Re: 1st gear won't hit redline (beastman@)

I've seen it happen a few times, I had an accord that had a similar power problem and it turned out the cat was clogged.

__________________
98 acura integra
aim is flipb18b
FLIP
http://www.thereasonyouhaveinternet.com
flip b18b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 04:39 AM   #5
Mfoehrkolb
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Mfoehrkolb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bethlehem, PA, United States
Posts: 3,489
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to Mfoehrkolb
Default

i kinda dont think it would be the cat, if it was a dramatic cut off. i would think it would have to do somthing with spark/fuel. Or something on the more technical line.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by SovXietday View Post
Judging by his fab skills, I'm sure he'd be happy to show you his dyno graph that he drew in crayon.
Mfoehrkolb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 05:58 AM   #6
beastman@
Junior Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
beastman@'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BOSSton, MA, usa
Posts: 343
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to beastman@
Default Re: (Mfoehrkolb)

I'm not sure if it completely cut, but the rpms dropped, and there was definitely a loss of power for a second before I shifted into second.

Any other suggestions?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by hardvtec90
My question is, does the position of your gas pedal have anything to do with how hard your tec cracks?
beastman@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 06:45 AM   #7
Dogginator
Daisy... Daisy...
1997 Acura Integra
 
Dogginator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: 24601
Posts: 16,584
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: 1st gear won't hit redline (beastman@)

Was the car fully warm? Any CELs?
__________________
404: Care not found.
Dogginator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2007, 07:22 AM   #8
weavertime1
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
weavertime1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Athens, Pa
Posts: 2,768
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to weavertime1
Default Re: 1st gear won't hit redline (Dogginator)

Certain VTEC cars will not allow you to use vtec until the car is warm enough, and just so you know, if I take my 96' gsr right when it is cold and get on it, it does exactly what you are saying. Let it warm up and then check again... Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
'98 Honda Civic CX - DD
'05 Ram 2500 Quad Cab Cummins Power!
'12 Mustang Boss 302 - The 1st affordable mustang worth buying!
weavertime1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2007, 10:16 AM   #9
beastman@
Junior Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
beastman@'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BOSSton, MA, usa
Posts: 343
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to beastman@
Default Re: 1st gear won't hit redline (Dogginator)

I'm not sure how long I had been driving it that day, but no CELs at all. I guess I'll try it again when she's warmed up.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by hardvtec90
My question is, does the position of your gas pedal have anything to do with how hard your tec cracks?
beastman@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2007, 09:42 PM   #10
soon2bdropped
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
soon2bdropped's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,238
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: 1st gear won't hit redline (beastman@)

check oil level also.. not enough oil pressure..
__________________
Vouches : Frank_2.0L
soon2bdropped is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2007, 11:38 PM   #11
Junkie
Junior Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Junkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Berkeley/SLO, CA, USA
Posts: 148
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via ICQ to Junkie Send a message via AIM to Junkie
Default

It's also possible your tach was just being slow, I know a friend of mine had that issue on a turboford he drove. He would hit rev limiter well before the needle would get to redline, but an aftermarket tach that was considerably quicker solved that issue.
__________________
[quote=yc_dc4mar]SEARCH! and kill yourself[/quote]
Junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 04:34 AM   #12
AWD Terror
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
AWD Terror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Losin traction in, PA
Posts: 1,488
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (Junkie)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Junkie
turbo ford
You just answered your own question.
__________________
2002 RSX - DD
1970 F100, 1997 ZX6R - The toys
2002 Mustang GT, 1997 Civic DX, 1997 Integra LS, 1994 Talon TSi AWD - Sold
AWD Terror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 04:37 AM   #13
boostedh22lude1
Garage is empty, add now
 
boostedh22lude1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: haltom, tx, america
Posts: 267
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (AWD Terror)

was ur car already warmed up? because if not it probably wasnt hot enough for your vtec to engage yet, or ur oil pressure was to high or to low.
boostedh22lude1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 07:11 AM   #14
mike5809
Honda-Tech Member
2003 BMW Z4
 
mike5809's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chambersburg, Pa, US
Posts: 1,414
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to mike5809
Default Re: 1st gear won't hit redline (beastman@)

I doubt it is because of vtec.

are you certain the tranny was not swapped for a ls tranny. if it is a gsr tranny i would lean more towards you hit a fuel cut and thus it stoped making powerdroped your rpms etc. this could because of a few reasons.
__________________
For Sale: 2003 BMW Z4: 3.0, 6-spd, Navi, DVD, PWR Convertible, All Options, etc - http://hondamarketplace.com/showthread.php?t=2859904
SOLD: 91 Talon, 92 Hatch Si, 95 Jeep, 91 Teg, 92 CBR 600, 01 CBR f4i, 98 GSR, 03 G35
mike5809 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 07:17 AM   #15
BryanM.
Resident Gearhead
2007 Honda Civic
 
BryanM.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 5,424
iTrader Rating: (1)
Default Re: 1st gear won't hit redline (mike5809)

The tach on my Civic with a B16A is slow, some times I hear VTEC engage and the tach says about 4500 and then it cuts off well before redline on the tach. VSS I believe, but a lot of the answers above could be true as well.
__________________
PICS: '07 FG1 - DD
......... '96 EJ6 - SOLD
......... '92 EH2 - SOLD
BryanM. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 07:22 AM   #16
weavertime1
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
weavertime1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Athens, Pa
Posts: 2,768
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to weavertime1
Default Re: 1st gear won't hit redline (mike5809)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike5809
I doubt it is because of vtec.

are you certain the tranny was not swapped for a ls tranny. if it is a gsr tranny i would lean more towards you hit a fuel cut and thus it stoped making powerdroped your rpms etc. this could because of a few reasons.
The transmission has nothing to do with the ENGINE revving higher or lower. The speed of the car can be faster or slower, but if the gsr has an ls transmission it would just allow it to reach a higher speed in each gear without hitting the rev limiter. The engine itself will still be allowed to rev to the proper rpms. The distributor sends the information to the tach, not a sensor on the transmission. Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
'98 Honda Civic CX - DD
'05 Ram 2500 Quad Cab Cummins Power!
'12 Mustang Boss 302 - The 1st affordable mustang worth buying!
weavertime1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 07:27 AM   #17
mike5809
Honda-Tech Member
2003 BMW Z4
 
mike5809's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chambersburg, Pa, US
Posts: 1,414
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to mike5809
Default Re: 1st gear won't hit redline (beastman@)

yeah i dont know what i was thinking when i wrote that.
my old NA Built DA non vtec would rev to 8800 with stock LS Gears so i dont know why i was thinking that, long day in the office i blame it on

still could be a fuel cut though
__________________
For Sale: 2003 BMW Z4: 3.0, 6-spd, Navi, DVD, PWR Convertible, All Options, etc - http://hondamarketplace.com/showthread.php?t=2859904
SOLD: 91 Talon, 92 Hatch Si, 95 Jeep, 91 Teg, 92 CBR 600, 01 CBR f4i, 98 GSR, 03 G35
mike5809 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 07:44 AM   #18
beastman@
Junior Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
beastman@'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BOSSton, MA, usa
Posts: 343
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to beastman@
Default Re: 1st gear won't hit redline (mike5809)

It's not an LS tranny, it's bone stock like I said in the first post. I have a feeling it just wasn't warmed up, because it was probably around 6800.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by hardvtec90
My question is, does the position of your gas pedal have anything to do with how hard your tec cracks?
beastman@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 07:49 AM   #19
mike5809
Honda-Tech Member
2003 BMW Z4
 
mike5809's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chambersburg, Pa, US
Posts: 1,414
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to mike5809
Default Re: 1st gear won't hit redline (beastman@)

^ which would most likely be a 'fuel cut'
__________________
For Sale: 2003 BMW Z4: 3.0, 6-spd, Navi, DVD, PWR Convertible, All Options, etc - http://hondamarketplace.com/showthread.php?t=2859904
SOLD: 91 Talon, 92 Hatch Si, 95 Jeep, 91 Teg, 92 CBR 600, 01 CBR f4i, 98 GSR, 03 G35
mike5809 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 07:51 AM   #20
GRAF-FITI
* B A N N E D *
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: states united
Posts: 4,557
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to GRAF-FITI
Default Re: 1st gear won't hit redline (beastman@)

check you oil.....i had a prelude that was fairly built but before the motor was done it burned oil nasty (as the h22 is known to do)......i didn't know how low the oil level was, but when i tried running it up to redline one time it cut at like 6500rpms (felt like hitting a rev limiter)....checked the oil and it was INSANELY low, like 1 qrt.....filled it up, let the car warm up, and was good to go


moral of the story: with that many miles, monitor your oil level....let the car warm up fully before taking it to the higher rpm's as well

my vote is for low oil level
GRAF-FITI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 07:03 PM   #21
beastman@
Junior Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
beastman@'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BOSSton, MA, usa
Posts: 343
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to beastman@
Default Re: 1st gear won't hit redline (GRAF-FITI)

I just got an oil change, and my oil doesn't leak. Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by hardvtec90
My question is, does the position of your gas pedal have anything to do with how hard your tec cracks?
beastman@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 08:13 PM   #22
Junkie
Junior Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Junkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Berkeley/SLO, CA, USA
Posts: 148
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via ICQ to Junkie Send a message via AIM to Junkie
Default Re: (AWD Terror)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AWD Terror

You just answered your own question.
notice someone claims the same thing happens to them with a B16A civic, so it's certainly possible.

and yeah, they are known for electrical issues but in this case it wasn't one.
__________________
[quote=yc_dc4mar]SEARCH! and kill yourself[/quote]
Junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2007, 06:53 PM   #23
beastman@
Junior Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
beastman@'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BOSSton, MA, usa
Posts: 343
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to beastman@
Default Re: (Junkie)

Ripped it today with a warmed up engine, pushed it passed 7k and everything was butter smooth.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by hardvtec90
My question is, does the position of your gas pedal have anything to do with how hard your tec cracks?
beastman@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 04:07 AM   #24
weavertime1
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
weavertime1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Athens, Pa
Posts: 2,768
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to weavertime1
Default Re: 1st gear won't hit redline (beastman@)

I figured it was just cold!!! Good deal!!! Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
'98 Honda Civic CX - DD
'05 Ram 2500 Quad Cab Cummins Power!
'12 Mustang Boss 302 - The 1st affordable mustang worth buying!
weavertime1 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
1st, accord, b18, civic, forum, gear, hit, honda, line, red, redline, turbo, why, won, wont

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:16 PM.



2008 Copyright, InternetBrands Inc.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Honda-Tech.com content, comments, or advertising. Honda-Tech.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Honda-Tech.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Emails & Contact Details