Notices
Honda Prelude All Model Preludes

Stripped oil pan drain plug... tried some suggestions, need more help

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2009, 02:45 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stripped oil pan drain plug... tried some suggestions, need more help

This is my first time changing the oil on the car, just purchased the car last week. I noticed that a washer was missing as I pulled the drain plug on the oil pan so I assumed it was stripped. I verified this when I added one, then two washers to the drain plug while tightening it and it has very little resistance

Since I have another car, I can afford to have the car down for a little while but I'd prefer to not have to replace the oil pan. I know this is a common problem among the discount oil change shops and inattentive car owners... does the drain plug typically strip out before the oil pan? With the oil pan being aluminum, I suppose the pan itself could be stripped out.

Haven't tried a new drain plug yet, and haven't had a chance to try out the teflon tape trick... if it's the oil pan that's stripped, neither of these will solve the problem

Unless someone has an oil pan that's not stripped and would be selling to sell it for a decent price, let me know. I've seen a few on ebay going for $50-70

Last edited by tamadrumr88; 12-22-2009 at 03:29 PM.
Old 12-22-2009, 03:57 PM

Default Re: Stripped oil pan drain plug... tried some suggestions, need more help

my buddy did that on his bike turning it the wrong way. I had to tap it then went to the local auto parts and got a bigger bolt. then i flushed the shavings with cheap dollar store oil
Old 12-22-2009, 04:34 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Stripped oil pan drain plug... tried some suggestions, need more help

tap and die set
Old 12-22-2009, 04:44 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Pull the pan off and get a new one. Thats what I would do
Old 12-22-2009, 05:14 PM
Honda-Tech Member