Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

d15b vs d16z6, differences..

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2008, 08:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default please help, total noob

I have a 94 stock EX coupe with a blown motor. This is just my daily driver to get to work and back, so I'm honestly not too concerned with performance. What I am concerned with is the level of difficulty in swapping the motors and cost.

I found a D15B for $500, just imported jdm motor with ECU, wiring harness, intake, and headers. Now, are these parts enough to do the swap? I still have a lot to research before I actually attempt this, but this seems like a good deal so I might as well have the parts ready.

From what I understand, if I use the D15B, I can use my existing tranny and motor mounts; I will not need to replace any brackets or anything. Is there a difference between the D15B ecu and the D16Z6 ecu? Also, do the two motors use the same clutch, water pump, and belts? What about axles?

Basically, what I'm asking is, if I buy this D15B, can I just swap in the new motor and not change anything else whatsoever? I would buy a D16Z6, but I can't seem to find one around me.. and I would rather not pay to have anything shipped.

Lastly, what kind of tools will I need to perform the swap? Just some basic hand tools, an Impact wrench, torque wrench? What drive size and what sockets? Any extensions? My tools are pretty crappy, so I'll need to buy all new stuff. I plan to rent an engine hoist once it's ready to come out.

I'm totally new to this kind of thing.. the most difficult thing I've done is replacing a starter in my Infiniti G35.. but I'm studying my haynes manual so hopefully I'll be able to do this swap soon.

And.. how long would this swap take for a real beginner?

Thanks H-T!

Modified by cloodle at 10:06 PM 8/5/2008

Modified by cloodle at 9:46 AM 8/6/2008
Old 08-06-2008, 08:46 AM

^
Old 08-06-2008, 08:58 AM