Honda Accord & Crosstour (2003 - 2012) 2003 - 2012 Honda Accord and Inspire

Accord '04 Clutch/Transmission Issue

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2012, 11:19 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Accord '04 Clutch/Transmission Issue

Hello all,

I've searched the interwebz far and wide, but I'm having a difficult time finding someone who has had my specific problem. I found a few similar issues on honda-tech and some other honda forums, but nothing quite like it. I'm a total noob when it comes to car maintenance, so please forgive me if I sound like a moron. I'll give you the specs, explain the problem, and let you know where my troubleshooting/searching has led me so far:

2004 Honda Accord V6 6MT. 160k miles. I have owned the car since 32k miles, and I have never replaced the clutch or any of the clutch's components. The only significant mechanical work that has been performed is a CV joint replacement, a motor mount, and a radiator replacement. Regular maintenance such as timing belts, oil changes, etc, has all been maintained as recommended. Everything is stock except for the exhaust, and the car is lowered about 1/2 inch (both mods were done before I bought the car.

My problem started off with a faint clicking noise when traveling in 2nd gear with the clutch engaged. The clicking would get faster as the vehicle accelerated, and it would slow down as the vehicle decelerated. The problem spread to also include reverse over time. A faint clicking noise when the clutch was engaged that got faster and slower depending on the vehicle's speed. If I depress the clutch, the sound will go away (even if it's still in 2nd or reverse).

Today, the problem has compounded. The faint clicking noise I once heard in 2nd gear has become quite loud, and I can now hear a click noise when in 2nd, reverse, and neutral. The clicking is still faint in reverse and neutral.