Notices
Engine Management and Tuning Crome, NepTune, Hondata, AEM, MOTEC

B20Vtec resetting ignition timing with current Hondata tune

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2015, 11:45 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default B20Vtec resetting ignition timing with current Hondata tune

Asking for help on figuring out how to set my ignition timing that already has a tune. I am still new to engine management, so I know I must be doing something wrong. The motor and ECU i bought from somebody, but it came with no dizzy, starter, alt and some other stuff so I have no idea where the dizzy is supposed to be set for timing. The ecu has hondata s300 v1 on it with a dyno tune for the motor. It's a pretty simple setup but i got it for a really good price that I will be building off of but for right now I just want it running correctly. I have researched my best and all i can get from people is the normal "use a timing light", "use smanager and use the set timing option". I used an inductive timing light with smanager to try and set the timing. I had to completely advance the dizzy after hitting the set timing option and the cams and crank all lined up. After hitting close on the set timing window i took it for a drive and it drove like ****. It felt as if I had no throttle control at all, it would barely go. Pulled it back in the garage, hooked it back up to smanager and did some research. Looked through smanager and I am completely stumped still. Yes I checked the mechanical timing twice and even had a friend re-check it for me everything is good. The cam gears are adjustable, and the intake side is advanced 1 mark which on these +2 degrees (that's what it was set at for the tune). I set the cam gear back to 0 when checking timing though. I have never had to redo ignition timing without knowing where it previously was. Ill list some specs of the build below. Any help would be appreciated.

B20z stock block
b16 head
type r cams
type r IM + TB