Acura Integra All Integra Except ITR

AC Problem and question: Rapid cycling.

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2006, 07:37 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default AC Problem and question: Rapid cycling.

The problem I have may not be a problem at all, since I'm new to Integra's and am learning. I've researched in my Helms manual (no help :S ) as well as on this site and the following link is closest thread to my specific problem, but doesn't help much.

http://www.team-integra.net/fo...earch

Whats happening is, when I'm driving down the road w/the AC on, the compressor is turning off and on (cycling). It doesn't do this untill it's been on for several minutes. I know it's suppose to do this but it does it VERY often: every 3-5 seconds, which seems abnormal.

And of course, when it comes on, the car slows down a little bit and when it goes off, everything goes back to normal ( I knwo this is normal)
But with such rapid cycling the car constantly feels like its jerking and is very, very annoying.

So, my questions are:
How many times per minute is the AC suppose to cycle?
Like I said, once its on for a little while, it's cycling every 3-5 seconds.

Is the compressor kicking off and on in YOUR Integra very noticeable?

From the above link, it seems that it's possible my system is overcharged and it's keeping itself from freezing up and thats why the frequent cycling?

Does this sound reasonable or am I way off on this?
Old 03-21-2006, 09:49 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: AC Problem and question: Rapid cycling. (mac_24_seven)

This is also happening to my teg, it cycles on and off maybe every 10 seconds. i don't have a problem with the rpms dipping low or anything there is a slight jerk when it turns on and off while i'm driving but i don't mind it because it helps me know when it's on and off, so bump for some answers
Old 03-21-2006, 05:02 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: AC Problem and question: Rapid cycling. (DC4me)