Honda-Tech - Honda Forum Discussion

Honda-Tech - Honda Forum Discussion (https://honda-tech.com/forums/)
-   Forced Induction (https://honda-tech.com/forums/forced-induction-16/)
-   -   Reliable Turbo DD? D16Z6 (https://honda-tech.com/forums/forced-induction-16/reliable-turbo-dd-d16z6-2749907/)

imbest123 03-26-2010 02:01 AM

Reliable Turbo DD? D16Z6

One option that I am considering in regards to my Civic is turboing it so that I may enjoy the car a bit more but one thing that always comes to mind is reliability. I do know what a turbo entails (turboing my RSX-S in 2 weeks. I have all the parts minus K-Pro) so I'm not a complete noob but I know near nothing about a D series. My goal is 200-250whp for a daily driven car that will maintain its reliability. So far from what I have gathered this is the set-up I am looking at but do want second opinions. If this option doesnt go through I may just swap the motor.

Motor:
Vitara Pistons
Eagle Rods
ARP Headstuds
Y8 Manifold

Turbo (I'm still deciding so no need to comment on this unless something is waaay off):
Log Manifold
small T3/T4 turbo, possibly a T04E
38mm Wastegate
the rest of the supporting bs lol

Fuel:
450cc DSM Injectors
Walbro hpfp? (is that needed?)

Trans:
I have NOOOO idea one this one

I have no real "budget" persay but I dont want something priced ridiculously over the top either. My goal is to have a fresh motor that will last at least 150,000 miles (not exactly but you get where Im trying to go with that). Is that all that is needed motor-wise for a reliably boosted car from 200-250whp? Is cooling an issue with the tiny stock radiator?

I shouldnt say money isnt an issue but I dont feel comfortable spending more than 2 grand for a turbo build when I bought the whole car for less than that.

azandford 03-26-2010 03:23 AM

Re: Reliable Turbo DD? D16Z6

well if you dont want to spend more than 2 grand you have a lot of options turbo wise....

Walbro prob wont be needed if our stickin around 250hp