Notices

R32 RollCage Build and Pics of the New Shop!

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2011, 09:52 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default R32 RollCage Build and Pics of the New Shop!

Yea it's not the Nissan lol but the super heavy VW R32! This was my first time building a rollcage and i'm pretty happy with the way it turned out. I learned alot and the are def. a few things i'll do different next time around. Some backgroung info. My brother and I just started an Automotive shop, He has been wrenching on things since he was little and I def. consider him a natural mechanic. He graduated top of his class from (UTI) Universal Technical Institute in 2001 and had been working at a shop up the street that specializes in German cars. We have been wanting to open a shop forever, so we found a building and my bro quit his job. Me on the other hand, I am not a mechanic lol Def. not a natural in that area of expertise however I have always loved cars and would like to pursue fabrication. I won't be able to work at the shop full time until next summer when I'm out of school, I have 3 semesters left to complete 2 A.S degrees from two different Community colleges. One is for Welding Technology and one is for Engineering Software Applications aka: computer aided drafting. What sucks about my situation is I don't have a whole lot of "on the job fabrication experience." I did intern for LeDuc Racing and was thankful to be able to do some welding on the chassis of a super redokulous expensive short course race truck. Problem is that really wasn't enough time to learn a whole lot, one thing I'm thankful for though is my work at the college. I tutor the Tig welding classes and while i'm not the greatest welder I think I have built a solid foundation to help me with fabrication in the future. I'm pretty much learning as I go and hopefully by the time I graduate I'll have learned a bit more to help me on my quest lol End of my rant onto the pics!