Notices

Help with merge collectors - SolidWorks

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2011, 08:20 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help with merge collectors - SolidWorks

Hallo everyone, I have a situation, I'm trying to help my friend building his first headers, one for his d16z6 mild all motor setup and one for his stock turbo d16 project, we are trying to make them both eqval lenght so we are trying to design them in solidworks, and the thing is, I'm no expert, I havent studied designing or anything, so I'm pretty noob, I already did D16 exhaust/head flange, t3 turbine inlet flange,

one guy explaind to me, that he builds his manifolds in solidworks just making up 90/45/30/60 degree pipes, as he will use, and making few lenght straights, as parts, and then mocking everything up in assambly, and then checking for eqval lenghts, but the only thing he didnt explain to me is how to make t3 flange with 4 merge pipes as collector, and for all motor header, how to make 2-1 merge collector...

So, I would be really glad if someone could take me step by step, how to make turbine inlet flange with 4 merge pipes together as part, so I could use it in my assambly when I will be mocking up my manifold, and if I'm getting everything right, I need that merge collector be the way I could really make it in real world application, cause I will be positioning head flange, that merge collector, and then putting runners between them... so I need that collector to be real size like it will be in real world application.

the merge collector I'm talking is like this in picture:

Ok, thanks already for all the help, I hope my english is well enough to understand what I'm saying.

P.S. I'm really glad that we have this great forum here on HT, this has been great insperation for me to start buying my own equipment and trying to work with solidworks and so on.
Old 05-14-2011, 09:20 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Help with merge collectors - SolidWorks