Notices

aluminum welding prep

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2011, 08:18 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default aluminum welding prep

Hey guys I was wondering what the steps were to prep on aluminum I plan on practicing on some scrap metal to learn how to run beads. I know You use a wire brush and Acetone. But in which order put Acetone on a rag and wipe down the surface and than wire brush it or do I have the steps backwards. What dose everyone here do. What do you guys use do you add or use anything that acetone.

Thanks Brian
Old 03-27-2011, 08:23 PM
longest project ever

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: aluminum welding prep

i like to bead blast everything, denatured alcohol is best as it leaves no residue, DO NOT use chlorinated cleaners, they break down into phosgene gas which which will kill you dead that quick, or screw your lungs for life, phosgene gas is mustard gas
Old 03-27-2011, 08:41 PM
Honda-Tech Member

I'm a complete welding noob this is my first time welding. so dont mind the stupid questions. whats bead blasting, were do you get the denatured alcohol and do you just use a rag to wipe it down and than hit it with a wire brush. and is acetone considerd a chlorinated cleaners. I want to learn to weld not die lol.

Thanks for the help
Old 03-27-2011, 09:18 PM
longest project ever

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by b16bri
I'm a complete welding noob this is my first time welding. so dont mind the stupid questions. whats bead blasting, were do you get the denatured alcohol and do you just use a rag to wipe it down and than hit it with a wire brush. and is acetone considerd a chlorinated cleaners. I want to learn to weld not die lol.

Thanks for the help