Notices
Transmission & Drivetrain Gearboxes, Differentials, Clutches

auto b series in the 12's? (good reason for running auto!)

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2017, 09:38 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon2 auto b series in the 12's? (good reason for running auto!)

Hey guys, I have a bit of a weird scenario. To start off with, if I was building a car for myself it would of course be a manual. Here's my situation: I'm a high school auto teacher (and I used to build honda's) and there's a high school drag racing association in my area: BCSSMA ? British Columbia Secondary School Motorsport Association that I'm going to participate in. So for the shops first car I want to build something that I'm familiar with (ie honda's). Unfortunately a good chunk of my students can't drive or at least suck at driving stick, and I know I'll be blowing diffs and cv's left right and center with these kids not properly pre-loading the clutch at the line. I would REALLY like to simplify this with an auto trans. I know they aren't built for power, but I'm not looking to set any records here (the high school drag racing association is limited to 12.00). I was thinking a dc integra would be the best bang for my buck (no full swaps required) to get to the track. Then we can turbo, cam, etc. to get it in to the 12's. My question is what is the reasonable limit for a stock auto trans and what modifications / where to get them / approx price to upgrade the trans? I have also seen there's a possibility of swapping in an ecotec trans? (<-- would only want to do if that's the only option). I know this isn't a commonly done thing, but there has to be information out there on how to get an auto going decently quick... any help is much appreciated! Thanks!
Old 03-07-2017, 10:19 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 794 Likes on 734 Posts
Default Re: auto b series in the 12's? (good reason for running auto!)