Notices
Suspension & Brakes Theory, alignment, spring rates....

Trailing arm to LCA threads stripped, what to do.

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2016, 05:30 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Trailing arm to LCA threads stripped, what to do.

So the dreaded seized bolts when doing the rear suspension has really caused me some headaches this time. The bolt that connects the lca to the trailing arm was seized, and in trying to get it out I stripped the threads on the trailing arm. Anybody just cut off the threaded part and used a nut? I really need the car back on the road, but am wondering if that will be a good enough solution.
Old 08-03-2016, 05:41 AM
Fish Twig

Received 309 Likes on 285 Posts
Default Re: Trailing arm to LCA threads stripped, what to do.

Why not re-tap it?
Old 08-03-2016, 05:52 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Excuse my ignorance on re-tapping, as I have never done it before, but I assumed that if I stripped it out, I would not be able to retap in the same size. Is this not correct? If so, I'll just need to find me an m10 x 1.25 tap. Thanks for the response.
Old 08-03-2016, 02:48 PM
Hysterically Calm

Received 562 Likes on 481 Posts

How did you strip the threads in the welded nut part of the trailing arm while taking out the seized bolt?

It is really difficult to visualize how the female threads of the nut got stripped when most action would be done on the male threads of the bolt (vice grips etc).

I don't consider drilling out the threads as stripped as much as drilled out, in which case a tap will not work.
Old 08-03-2016, 04:27 PM
Master Detailer

Received 12 Likes on 9 Posts

if you got the bolt out, and only messed up the threads you can re-tap it, or just snap it off and replace it with a lock nut.

I just broke mine yesterday on accident.
Old 08-03-2016, 08:08 PM
Hysterically Calm

Originally Posted by 98civdx