Notices
Road Racing / Autocross & Time Attack Road Racing / AUTOX, HPDE, Time Attack

Struggling with containment seat mount. Have pics,Help?

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2012, 12:33 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Struggling with containment seat mount. Have pics,Help?

This is my first ever mounting of a containment seat. It's also the first one I've ever owned. I have no pool of knowledge on this one. EG coupe.

location. I believe I have the seat where I'd like it to be. The angles are good, legs feel good when using the pedals, etc. Seat is where it needs to be, +/- a hair. If anything, it could slide toward the center of the car 1/2" if I trim the seat bracket. The base of seat is about 3-3.5" from the floor. The kirkey rails that are bolted on are parallel with the seat bottom.

Problem. Check the pics. The wide part of the containment device is poking through the window. Is this common?

There is no way I'll be able to get a window net off the Halo bar down to the door bar. that corner of the seat breaks the window net plane by a long way. the Halo bar would be in about 2" from that metal I have in the pic, and the first door bar, down about 5-8" from the door top. The seat is in the dang way.

Maybe I could mount the net to the door jam... I have no idea if that's legal. It's just the first thing that came to my mind.

MAYBE, I could cut out the door jam at the top (not running door tops) and flush up the Halo bar 2-3" to the driver side. So that bar is actually where the door top normally goes.

I'm kinda puzzled. Any help is appreciated.

about a 1.1-1.25" gap between the kireky mount and the front stock seat mount bracket (the black bit).

Kirkey bracket rubs the tunnel. I could take 1/2" in width off that bracket and slide the seat over toward the middle. OR, flip the bracket so that the seat bolts would be under the seat. Might be able to slide the seat an 1"+ toward the center of the car.

Old 04-14-2012, 07:22 AM