Notices
Road Racing / Autocross & Time Attack Road Racing / AUTOX, HPDE, Time Attack

Help me set up EM1 for solo2!!

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2005, 02:28 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Help me set up EM1 for solo2!!

Hey guys. I am currently driving a 1999 honda civic si. I went to my first autocross (solo 2 was the exact name) and im hooked!!!!! Right now the car has an AEM short ram intake and an OBX catback (came on the car when i bought it). I am interested in setting this car up and have some questions. Since the car already has I/E forget stock class. Ill TRY to be competitive in STS. Keep in mind the car is also a daily driver.

1. Rim size. 15" or 16"?
2. Lighter the better. so what would you recomend? How are rota circuit 8's? Are they to heavy?
3. Do you think any other engine mods are needed?
4. Suspension - I have enough for Koni Yellows and ground control coilovers. The thing is how hard is it to set them up and adjust them. Im new to autox. Ive been saving for a while but i dont wanna be the guy who sucks and spends all the money. Are they that hard to set up?
5. Any other input? Thanks for your help!

I think rims, tires, coilovers, stuts, intake and exhaust is enough for me to have fun. I dont want to get into struts, sways, bushings, ect yet
Old 06-12-2005, 04:09 PM
.RJ

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Help me set up EM1 for solo2!! (TurboEM1)

Dont do anything.

Get some seat time. THen do an autox school (evolution school is great). Then get some more seat time. Then think about tires and shocks and springs.
Old 06-12-2005, 05:32 PM
be professional

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts

The EM1 is a horrible autocross car. I'd just sell it and buy an '89 Civic Si.