Notices
Paint and Body Auto Body Repair, Painting and Prep

Project: Bring Faded paint back to life - Milano Red 1994 Del Sol - Pics - Oxidation- Klasse

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2008, 09:16 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Project: Bring Faded paint back to life - Milano Red 1994 Del Sol - Pics - Oxidation- Klasse

*****UPDATE NEW PICS ARE UP OF THE ENTIRE FINISHED CAR*****

Hey guys, I decided to try and bring my paint back to life instead of getting it painted. I had another thread going, but it wasn't as "on topic" as this one will be, and this way when people search they will be able to see some results.

For the beginners and weary:
I have never used a power buffer, always used to do things by hand. I have never polished before either. So this is my first time, and it turned out to be fairly easy.

Its a 1994 milano red Del sol, and the paint is pretty oxidized, but it hasnt started stripping the clear yet, so there is still hope!

The process I am using to do this is fairly simple (compared to more in depth routines ie, wet sanding, compounding etc...)

I used these products in this order:
1. Mothers california Gold Wash
2. Mothers Clay bar kit (entire vehicle)
3. Klasse All In One
4. Klasse Sealer Glaze
5. Carnauba Wax (haven't decided which I will use yet)

Washing and clay barring is simple, if you need details on clay barring, a quick youtube search brings some helpful videos.

The only product I will be applying by hand is the Sealer Glaze, the Klasse AIO and Wax I'll be using a porter Cable 7424 with a Lake country collection of pads. Alot of vets would go with a rotary buffer, but I chose the PC7424 since I am new to power buffers, and from what i have researched, it is much safer for your paint.

I received the PC7424 on monday, and the Klasse products on tuesday. Still waiting for the Lake Country Pad kit. Bought EVERYTHING on ebay.

Here are some random before pictures of the Del sol: