Notices
Paint and Body Auto Body Repair, Painting and Prep

Using "Glue" to attach replacement panels?

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2009, 08:21 PM
kp
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Using "Glue" to attach replacement panels?

I have read in another thread that someone prefers gluing replacement rear quarter panels in favor of welding (due to possible panel distortion and grinding etc. etc.).

From an absolute beginners perspective with bodywork, is it a better choice to use body glue to attach the new panel or welding? Seeing this question in black and white, I'd say right off the bat the glue would be a better option. No panel distortion, no grinding, no burning through the panel....

So, who likes what? What products are available for this? Are they strong? Dependable? Do they crack or warp? What would you use to back the panels? I know very little of this glue procedure and any negative/positive input is greatly appreciated. Pictures are good too.
Old 06-01-2009, 09:15 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Using "Glue" to attach replacement panels?

In for more information about this body glue, I've never heard of it

Although I must say, it doesn't sound very safe
Old 06-01-2009, 09:41 PM
Honda-Tech Member

The glue that you're referring is most likely a panel bonding adhesive. Panel bonding adhesives have been formulated to be a replacement for welding when welding is not practical. Attaching a thin sheet of metal to the car etc. I've read and studied a lot about the panel bonding adhesives and have even seen it and touched it with my own two hands. I have to say that it turns out to be the hardest stuff ever.