Notices
Paint and Body Auto Body Repair, Painting and Prep

Hood Painting

Old 02-25-2012, 05:13 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hood Painting

I'm wondering if anybody here has done a DIY paint job for their hood.

I have a 02 Accord that's silver.

I'm planning on buying a brand new primered hood and painting it myself. I've never done anything like this before, but times are tough, and I'm excited to see how hard/if I can actually pull it off.

I know to use very light coats and take my time, not rushing it otherwise there will be a run in the paint.

I'm planning on using Duplicolor Perfect Match (I know the color code already) as well as clear coat.

So my questions are:

1. Since the hood is primered already, and basically brand new, do I have to put any other type of primer/adhesive/hardener in order for the paint to hold better? This is probably true for bumpers since they are plastic, but would it hold true for steel/metal? It's to my understanding that you can just take it out and paint it, hence "ready to paint" but just making sure.

2. How many cans of 8 oz paint and clear coat do you think will do the job? I was thinking 3 and 3, or 4 and 2.

3. Since I'm trying to cut costs, does it make a difference if I paint the hood on the ground separately, rather than on the car itself? I'm just trying to save some money on masking tape and possibly paper (though I think I can use newspaper) and especially prep time.

4. I've had a independent mechanic put on a new bumper for me and he painted it after he put it on. Looks real good and matches. He did it under an hour and told me to leave it overnight with a heater running to cure it. I probably wont do it this fast, but do you think the project can be done in a day?

Thanks for the responses in advance, and sorry for the long post, just need advice.
Old 02-25-2012, 06:58 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Hood Painting