Notices
Other Make Vehicles Nissan, Mitsubishi, Subaru, BMW, Audi, etc.

The mission for a fun daily driver/commuter car

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2017, 06:02 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default The mission for a fun daily driver/commuter car

So I've been building Hondas for 2 decades now and decided its time for something different. I have a significant daily commute to work (55 miles one way all highway) that will soon change because our office is moving. Ill now have a 40 mile commute on 2 lane Pennsylvania mountain twisties with almost zero traffic to deal with. So naturally its time to find something a little more fun than my current 2015 accord to daily, when it isnt snowing of course.

I searched high and low, ended up finding a pretty killer deal 1400 miles away from me in Dallas. After some negotiation I was on a plane with a one way ticket flying Pittsburgh to Dallas to drive the car home. I spread the drive out over a mini-vacation that was rather therapeutic driving alone through open country in a sports car.

So here it is, 2000 Corvette fixed roof coupe, 6 speed manual for under $10k. Needs some work here and there but I bought it with the intention to make it a project car

Fixed some electrical gremlins,basic plugs, wires and some gaskets, bolted on a Z06 titanium exhaust, new shocks, 2 wheel bearings, sway bar bushings and end links and some new tires on Z06 wheels.

I've been pretty thrilled to say the least about driving this to work for the last month. Its surprisingly getting decent gas mileage too in the low-mid 20's which isnt too far off my Accord's MPG up and over the mountains.
Attached Images           
Old 10-27-2017, 06:55 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 43 Likes on 39 Posts
Default Re: The mission for a fun daily driver/commuter car

Awesome! I bet the drive back was fun, a road trip across half of the US.
Old 10-28-2017, 07:39 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Beautiful! Easily the best bang for the buck.