Notices
Honda Minivans, Crossovers, and Trucks Honda Odyssey / Ridgeline / Pilot / HR-V
Acura MDX / RDX

Help ASAP -Oil Change forgot to put washer in Oil plug?

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2010, 12:07 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post Help ASAP -Oil Change forgot to put washer in Oil plug?

is it necessary to put thrush washer?? on the oil drain bolt

Hi i feel kinda panic right now because one of the shops where i work part time lube technician and its my first time.

I did a customer car that is a 1999 Honda CRV.
drained oil, remove oil filter,
then went to lunch brake

Later put back new oil filter and the oil drain plug, -but forgot to put the dam thrust washer.

The time i put about couple of quarts of oil in the car i then realize i forgot to put the washer????
i realized that i didn't want to re drain the new oil just to put back the drain plug... that would be a waste of money dammit..

HELP ASAP - note I made the oil drain plug very tight. will it have comback problems in the future i just want to clear up my mind? no leaks i checked!!!

My co worker told me that he once ran his car without a thrust washer and it didn't leak its ok... please comments is it really OKAY?????
Old 02-23-2010, 03:42 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Help ASAP -Oil Change forgot to put washer in Oil plug?

if it was tight and didn't leak, 99% likely it won't leak before it's next oil change. It's steel-on-steel which isn't forgiving but if the bolt was in good shape and clean and the mating surface on the pan was the same, no problem.

It is a little concerning that you made a decision about someone's car that you weren't sure about though. In the future, I hope you'll be a bit more proactive when it comes to the welfare of other people's automobiles. Just sayin.

Edit: Also, with a quick enough hand, you could have installed the washer with only having lost an ounce or two of oil.
Old 02-23-2010, 07:43 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Originally Posted by TTIWWOP