Notices
Honda Minivans, Crossovers, and Trucks Honda Odyssey / Ridgeline / Pilot / HR-V
Acura MDX / RDX

1998 Ody - P1259 - Completely Out of Ideas.

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2015, 12:17 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1998 Ody - P1259 - Completely Out of Ideas.

Hello All!

So, I am a recentowner of a 1998 2.3 VTEC Ody that I've been trying to bring back from the dead.I bought it cheap with a blown head gasket and have been working on it forabout a month. I am new to Honda, but not new to wrenching. I was formallytrained with GM (7 years) and have spent the past 17 years with VW. Point being, I ain't new at this. Lol.

That being said...this thing is Kicking. My. A$$. Both myself and the internet are completelyout of ideas. I’ve read everything I canfind on this and no one seems to having the same type symptoms with this code. I also have access to Alldata and that hasgotten me no where.

I know this is long, just trying to be thorough. Sorry for the length, but Ihope it helps...

I found this ol'girl sitting in the mud and weeds behind a shop and since mywife and I have been looking for a little van as a hauler, I was like"PERFECT!" So we made a deal and they told me it needed a head gasketbut it ran. I jump-started her, pumped up the tires and drove her home (21miles) with cruise control and the A/C on! Lost a bit of coolant along the waybut she made it!

Got most of the way home and the check engine light came on with P1259 for theVTEC system. Did a little research, found a lot of people saying the VTECsolenoid and valve are common...The local Honda dealer had one in stock, (whichtells me they use them often enough), so I got one. Once the old one was off Isaw the little screen was clogged tight with junk. Put the new one on, clearedthe code, drove it around the block, no check engine light...we're good, right?

Nope, Come to find out it repeats under certain conditions.