Notices

K series daily driver worth it?

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2018, 09:53 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default K series daily driver worth it?

Hi hondatech,
Sorry if this is in the wrong section it's my first post but I am trying to decide which swap would be the best choice for me.

I'm in first year of college and currently drive a b18a1 ef hatch I built and plan on building a "fake ek4/ek9" starting next year. The plans for this car are mainly to be a super reliable (300000+ kms) daily driver but still have some pep behind it to have some fun. I am not looking to mess around with any of the internals since a lot of threads discuss the most reliable setups being OEM honda factory engines. I have narrowed it down to roughly 2 engines, either a gsr or a k20.

I understand reliable turbo setups are a thing but i have always been a fan of classic N/A hondas. I am wondering if a K swap is worth the extra money and hassle putting it together compared to a b series. It does have a 6th gear which is very appealing, but this car won't see much track use and most threads I have read stress the potential the k20 has, but I doubt I will ever squeeze all the power out of it.

Just wanted to get some input from you guys to see if the k series is overkill for what I'm looking for or if it is worth it in the long run.
Thanks!
Old 11-02-2018, 07:06 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: K series daily driver worth it?

Bump
Old 11-02-2018, 10:02 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 442 Likes on 384 Posts

If you are in college, I'm assuming you don't have a tonne of cash or free time. You certainly can't have both.

One of the biggest mistakes I made in a build was starting an intensive turbo S2000 build in my sophomore year of college. I didn't have adequate funds or time to do things the way they needed to be done, it was a headache that quickly stressed me out in conjunction with everything else.