Notices
Hybrid / Engine Swaps Discussions about non-stock engine swaps into Honda cars. This is not a forum for hybrid gas/electric cars.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What does a B18C5 block have that a B18B does not have?

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2002, 12:55 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What does a B18C5 block have that a B18B does not have?

Hey guys, I'm new to this whole Hybrid scene, so please pardon my ignorancy(?)!

Well, I currently own a 99 Civic Si, and miles are getting up there, well not for Honda standards but i think it's time for more torque. I drive a friend's Teg R pretty often from week to week and I really hate having to come back to my whimpy torqueless wonder B16A that I have.

I thought of trying to find a b18C5 shortblock and drop that in with my current B16A head. I also thought about the whole LS Block with the b16A head. The only thing that is keeping me from going with the LS Block is reliability issues. I know most of you will say that it is just as reliable.

But isn't there something in the B18C5 block that makes it better than the LS block in terms of making the motor last longer in higher revs. I'm still researching the B18C5 block as we speak. Doesn't the B18C5 block have oil squirters among other things that help keep friction down and just allow the motor to rev more reliably.

My question is, whatever is is the B18C5 block has is there anyway to build this into a B18B block? I don't have loads of cash and I want to do this right the first time and do it once only. I hope I got my question accross fine, any help on this would greatly be appreciated.
Old 05-08-2002, 02:31 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: What does a B18C5 block have that a B18B does not have? (EBPSI)

I think this is pretty much it for advantages of the ITR bottom end...
stronger rods
balanced rotating assembly
oil squirters for cooling underside of pistons