Notices
Hybrid / Engine Swaps Discussions about non-stock engine swaps into Honda cars. This is not a forum for hybrid gas/electric cars.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

JDM B18C1 in 93 Hatch DX........need some help

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2008, 01:50 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default JDM B18C1 in 93 Hatch DX........need some help

Hello all,

I am new to the Honda world, but I am not new to cars or swaps. I have done some research and found some good information but I am still a little foggy. So I have a 93 DX hatch and I will be swapping in a JDM B18C with a Jackson Racing Supercharger. I am still collecting for the swap and I am almost ready to buy the engine. I am getting a chipped P28 from Xenocron with a base map. I will drive up to north NJ and get it tuned once I get it all together.

I know that my chassis harness doesn't have Vtec. So, from what I have read I have to wire up Vtec, knock sensor, and iatb in the chassis wiring harness running from the ECU to the shock tower.

I am going to try to get an OBDI engine when I buy one from HMotors. However, there is no garauntee that I will get OBDI. I may get OBDII, it just depends on what they have when I purchase.

Where I am stumped it which engine harness to use. I am getting a JDM engine so the plug will be on the wrong side to use that harness.

Should I use my civic harness and just run the new wires I will need from the sensors all the way to the ECU?

Should I buy a different engine harness?

Should I shoot for OBDI because of the alternator?

I know you all have done these swaps a good bit. Everything else is straight forward. I just want to go the easiest and most straight forward route when I wire everything up.

Thanks in advance.
Old 12-19-2008, 03:16 PM
Seagull Management

Received 24 Likes on 22 Posts

Originally Posted by iliv2xlr8