Notices
Hybrid / Engine Swaps Discussions about non-stock engine swaps into Honda cars. This is not a forum for hybrid gas/electric cars.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

stock b20/vtec seems slow, what to do?

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2003, 09:48 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default stock b20/vtec seems slow, what to do?

sup ya, Im new to the n/a performance. My other car is a 1.8t Gti and Its hard to go from a boosted car to a n/a. Feels like n/a has no ***** cuz of the lack of boost. Anyway man, what is the best bang for the buck without turbo charging my b20/v. My b16 head is built with all skunk2 parts other than that bone stock. Some advice on bolt on and specific brands. Thanks
Old 11-25-2003, 10:13 PM

Default Re: stock b20/vtec seems slow, what to do? (swiftstyles)

What car do you have the motor in? And what do you mean by the head being built with skunk2 parts?

In my hatch, my b20vtec swap (stock block/head) is pretty quick. 8.5s in the 1/8th mile slicked down. A buddy of mine has a gti and he can never hang with me.
Old 11-26-2003, 03:59 PM

Default Re: stock b20/vtec seems slow, what to do? (unidextrous)

my b20/vtec is in a 92 da integra. Head has skunk2 stg2 camshafts, adjustable cam gears, titatanium valve spring, 5 angle valve job,port and polished,djustable fuel pressure reg. Other than that bone stock. The motor use to be in a crx that tore up my Gti. Probably its a weight issue.
Old 11-26-2003, 04:11 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

the problem is your stock bottom end doesnt give you enough compression for those cams to really shine. get some je's or something.
Old 11-26-2003, 04:58 PM

what do you mean its slow. have u tuned it ? is the head milled? check ur distributer cap and wires. i prefer stock. if ur fuel pump is stock thats the problem, and if you dont fix it u will blow ur motor.while ur at it change ur EFI filter. put a little more detail into the problem ur having.

Dam ayes
Old 11-26-2003, 10:40 PM