Notices
Hybrid / Engine Swaps Discussions about non-stock engine swaps into Honda cars. This is not a forum for hybrid gas/electric cars.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Noobie question: is it really that "hard" to swap engines?

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2003, 12:55 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Noobie question: is it really that "hard" to swap engines?

Forgive my redundancy post on this forum, but i'm an aspiring noob wanting to learn the ropes on engine swapping... my concern is whether or not the whole task of swapping an engine really that hard?

To make it more simple, what about jus swapping with the same exact engine?

Could some experience swappers pass me a little advice in a few words letting me know what the whole process entails... or am i jus a little over my head here?

The reason why i ask is because i had posted in the other forum that my timing belt snapped on me at 60MPH, i replaced it... the car starts and runs... but i feel a new engine is in order.

I'm still a noobie when it comes to working on cars, but very capable of learning. It's jus i never really had to do an engine overhaul before.

On another note, which engines can i swap into my 91 accord ex sedan?

[Modified by dclub01, 9:55 PM 3/22/2003]
Old 03-22-2003, 01:42 PM

Default Re: Noobie question: is it really that "hard" to swap engines? (dclub01)

swapping the same engine in is easy, with a little help you should be able to get it done in an afternoon. basically put the car on lifts, drain oil, coolant, tranny fluid. take out axles, unhook everything from engine. all wires, starter, hoses. hook the engine up to the lift.

remove engine mounts, and pull the sucker out. reverse to install.
Old 03-22-2003, 02:38 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Noobie question: is it really that "hard" to swap engines? (dclub01)

So for same engine it would be "easy"... what about another engine?