Notices
Hybrid / Engine Swaps Discussions about non-stock engine swaps into Honda cars. This is not a forum for hybrid gas/electric cars.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Noob help with 5th gen B16a swap and more!

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2004, 09:28 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Noob help with 5th gen B16a swap and more!

im planning on selling my current car and buying a very high milage 5th generation civic to do a b16a swap. im fairly new to the civic engine swapping stuff i would just like to gain all the knowledge i can before attemptiong to do such a swap. i have been looking around at prices and what not for like a swap "kit". what other things will i need other than the kit. i have talked to a few people and they say there are a lot of hidden costs. also is there brake parts and steering parts i should also replace while i have the engine out? http://www.hmotorsonline.com/s...30005 that is the kit i was looking at. what else would i need to complete the swap. a list and prices would be very nice and i see that it says "LSD Tranny +300" what is the difference with this tranny and the other one it would come with? any info you guys could give me would be greatly appreciated. also is that a good place to buy motors from? better prices any place else?

thanks
devin
Old 04-16-2004, 10:23 PM

The steering and brake parts would remain the same. If they are old and need replacement, now would be a good time to do that.

The LSD (Limited Slip Differential), is an attachment TO the tranny itself. It's not a different tranny. What it does, is prevents one wheel from spinning more than the other, helping with traction during take off; preventing wheel spin.

And YES, honda motors is great. Steve is a good guy, he'll treat ya right.

Old 04-17-2004, 07:08 AM

Default Re: (zensoku207)