Notices
Hybrid / Engine Swaps Discussions about non-stock engine swaps into Honda cars. This is not a forum for hybrid gas/electric cars.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New to forum - H22 Civic hatch, looking for suspension advice

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2008, 08:48 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to forum - H22 Civic hatch, looking for suspension advice

Hello all, i'm new to HT, I registered before when I bought a 94 GSR but it was stolen. I now have a 92 Civic CX Hatch with an H22 swap (bought it that way).

It's a fun little car, but it get pretty scarey taking curvey mountain roads under aceleration as the car floats quite a bit and also botoms out tire against the fender on big dips. The wheel offset is a bit goofy so that doesn't help, but the suspension is all stock and worn out.

I'm looking for advice as to what spring/strut combo would be good on a budget.

The problem with the H22 I keep reading is binding the axles when the car is lowered too much (90 teg axles, 90 accord innner joint in the passenger side and 90 accord intermediate shaft). So I don't want to lower it too much and find out I wasted my hard earned $, plus the roads are bad here and it will see snowy roads in wintertime.

Could anyone recomend a small drop that will work well with what I have?

Thanks!

Stew.

Modified by H22Stew at 1:30 AM 3/3/2008
Old 03-03-2008, 09:07 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: New to forum - H22 Civic hatch, looking for suspension advice (H22Stew)

I really like my setup, but I don't think it's even close to a budget setup.

At any rate, custom (425F/350R) ground control coilovers with koni yellows. Lots of other stuff, but the GC/Koni is the main part of it. It's set to roughly 2-3 finger width gap on the fenders. Never bottoms out, and rides quite smooth. Really torn up roads get rough, but it's to be expected with performance suspension. On normal roads it rides quite nice.
Old 03-03-2008, 09:30 AM
Honda-Tech Member